Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 21, 2014 3:32 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Jan Wed 30, 2013 7:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
I bought this yesterday for $75.12 and would appreciate any help determining the model and other information. It has five tubes: R2 - rectifier; PENA4 - power; 2D4A; VP4B; unknown with 9-pin base and top cap.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Last edited by FStephenMasek on Nov Thu 14, 2013 6:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: Jan Thu 31, 2013 12:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Tue 10, 2012 5:38 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Phoenix
If all else fails, you might try the forums at UK Vintage Radio Repair & Restoration:

http://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: Jan Thu 31, 2013 12:13 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Mon 17, 2008 5:05 am
Posts: 3909
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand
There is a bit of Google info, but no pix of your model.

http://www.gracesguide.co.uk/Ambassador ... Television

http://85.92.85.233/forum/forum/showthread.php?t=57350

_________________
Cheers - Marty ZL2MC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: Jan Thu 31, 2013 12:30 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
Being curious, I removed the chassis. I see one small dangling coil, perhaps an RF choke (upper left, between the band switch rod and the ground buss), but it appears to be otherwise routine. I'll either need to search with a magnifying glass to find where it was connected, or obtain a schematic.

Image

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: May Mon 27, 2013 4:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
The cabinet came out nice. I have not yet decided if I will change the grille cloth. Finishing the chassis will have to wait for a while, as there are 6 or seven projects to do before I resume working on it. I found an intermittent connection under some old insulation tubing in one of the field coil leads, so it will interesting to see if soldering that makes a difference. It should. Since I started work on the chassis, I've also bought some controls with switches, so will be able to install a proper on-off / volume control to replace the bad on-off switch on the band switch.

Image

Image

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: May Mon 27, 2013 12:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 8434
Location: Dayton Ohio
That cam operated bandswitch reminds me of the one John Geloso developed as seen on this page.

http://www.qsl.net/i0jx/geloso.html

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: May Mon 27, 2013 5:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
Thanks for that link to an interesting web site.

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: British The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model found
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 6:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
It works! I set the power transformer on the 200 volt tap and set my variable transformer to maximum, maybe feeding it 130 or so volts, so it did not work well, but it does work. My next task is getting a step-up transformer. It has taps for 200 volts, 230 volts, and 250 volts.

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 8:38 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Sun 01, 2013 12:16 am
Posts: 706
Location: CT 06033, USA
You could try one of those wall wart inverters they sell for traveling to foreign countries.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 1:20 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 10731
Location: Annapolis, MD
6E5 wrote:
You could try one of those wall wart inverters they sell for traveling to foreign countries.

That would be backwards, right? (Edit---the commonly available stuff in the US is only step-down)
Do we know the current requirements for this set?

Edit--big selection here:
http://www.voltage-converter-transforme ... outus.html

Yes, there ARE step-UP wall warts......

_________________
"It's always something". --Gilda Radner
My name is Mark, and I have a radio problem


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 2:08 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4117
Location: Gainesville, Florida
looks home made by someone who had some nice wood

_________________
CAUTION:Im No Expert
DISCLAIMER:Not responsible For Knowledge or Lack thereof
WARNING Will Robinson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 3:29 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Sun 01, 2013 12:16 am
Posts: 706
Location: CT 06033, USA
Amazon has a pretty good selection of those convertors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Thu 14, 2013 7:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Jun Mon 24, 2013 3:00 pm
Posts: 245
Or, for a stepup system to 240 V, if you have an isolation transformer,
just wire the secondary of it up to double the line voltage, or
connect the primary to the 115v line and the secondary in series with
your Variac to get 115 to 245 adjustable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Ambassador Radio Works unknown model Restoration
PostPosted: Nov Sun 24, 2013 6:55 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7163
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
I obtained some nice heavy 115 to 230 transformers and with the line voltage at my house, they output 250 VAC. With the transformer tap on the radio set to 250 VAC, it works better on AM. Shortwave is just noise, but I did not have a good antenna on it. The plug-in leads for the speaker were loose, so tightening them helped.

I tried setting the tap to 230VAC with 250VAC input, and it did help volume. I suspect most or all of the tubes are weak.

The unknown nine pin metal-coated glass tube was made by MAZDA and I think may be a AC/TP.

I looked-up the dates the tubes were introduced, and the newest is the PENA4, introduced in 1937.

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dan3460, Michaelebig, Mike DeMeo, WalterKi and 4 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB