Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Mon 18, 2017 11:27 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: New To The Hobby: Guidance Welcome
PostPosted: Nov Thu 30, 2017 3:11 pm 

Hello, I'm new to collecting and restoring old radios. I have some basic electronic knowledge, mostly home and auto electronics. I have collected a few early GE, Philco, Westinghouse and RCA table top radios. Mostly 30's, 40's and 50's era. I would like to get them back up and running. All are complete and original sets. I am starting with the GE 603, a basic "American 5 tube radio" from what I have read.

I had the tubes tested by a friend (GE 603), and they're all good. I was planning to move on to replacing the caps next. I downloaded the schematic; learning how to read it the best I can. Starting with the electrolytic caps. I made a list of their values and voltage. My question is: "where do I buy them?" Most vendors either sold them in lots or didn't have exactly matching values.

Any books or other sources of learning would be appreciated. I plan to join a local radio club after the holidays.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Post subject: Re: New To The Hobby: Guidance Welcome
PostPosted: Nov Thu 30, 2017 3:32 pm 

As far as parts, you can get just about anything you'll need are available from the vendors at the right of your computer screen. Many other items are available in the "Tubes and Parts" category of this forum. Welcome and good hunting. Come back with your questions!

Dale

PostPosted: Nov Thu 30, 2017 3:47 pm 

You can ask here first for advice. Many cap replacements do not have to be exact values. There are a couple guys in these forums that advertise selling caps. You can buy in the amount you want.

PostPosted: Nov Thu 30, 2017 3:50 pm 

Some of those odd values are difficult or expensive to match. Just replace them with the next step up.