Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 17, 2017 2:46 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Sun 21, 2014 11:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 20, 2011 2:53 pm
Posts: 735
Location: Spain - 28110 - Algete
I use that solution


Attachments:
valvulas1r.JPG
valvulas1r.JPG [ 92.92 KiB | Viewed 3445 times ]
valvulas2r.jpg
valvulas2r.jpg [ 62.18 KiB | Viewed 3445 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Mon 22, 2014 12:58 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1388
Location: Cambridge MN USA
That's a clever way of doing it too- everything is in proper order regardless of size. The only drawback is there's a lot of wasted space.

Scott Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Mon 22, 2014 1:06 am 
Member

Joined: Feb Thu 08, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 11125
Location: 06457
Basically by size and the years they were in use. I get rid of TV tubes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Mon 22, 2014 1:20 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Sun 21, 2013 12:21 am
Posts: 4945
Location: Vieques,PR 00765 USA
I'm lo-tech but did finally prepare a worksheet to help me find things. I've got small batches of tubes tucked away everywhere and it has been a pain to find them when I need them. Now I look at the sheet and know where to go!

Attachment:
tubeinv.jpg
tubeinv.jpg [ 175.77 KiB | Viewed 3423 times ]

_________________
-Bill

Visit my homebrew page
www.sparkbench.com/homebrew/homebrew.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Tue 30, 2014 12:21 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 30698
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
Way too much work to keep an inventory list. Tubes are all in cardboard bins, strictly alphanumerically, with overflow in grocery bags in the attic (same numbering system). If it isn't in the bin I don't have it.

Attachment:
tube storage.jpg
tube storage.jpg [ 62.63 KiB | Viewed 3354 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Sep Tue 30, 2014 1:02 am 
Member

Joined: Feb Thu 08, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 11125
Location: 06457
Alan Douglas wrote:
Way too much work to keep an inventory list. Tubes are all in cardboard bins, strictly alphanumerically, with overflow in grocery bags in the attic (same numbering system). If it isn't in the bin I don't have it.

Attachment:
tube storage.jpg

+1 on the time and work, simplier in the bins or trays,. No library system here. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Oct Thu 02, 2014 1:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3497
Location: McPherson, Kansas
My tubes are stored in identified boxes, with a list of tubes for each box on a page in a loose-leaf binder. Page # of the biinder hand-printed on box for a cross-reference. Each page in the binder (for each box) has tubes listed alphanumerically. Simple and works for me! :) Do I have that tube??? Look in the binder. Very low tech and I don't have to take a computer to my shop area. When I use one of them, I line/cross it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Oct Thu 02, 2014 2:21 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 20683
Location: Annapolis, MD
In the early years, there was one large box. Need a tube---dig in the box.

54 years later, there are more boxes, but the system has not changed much---things are sorted as follows:
Big pin--2 digit types
Big pin--3 digit
Octal
Large Octal

I do like the idea of random assignment to boxes with a master list to find things (this is how computer memory works)

_________________
-Mark http://pixellany.com

"It's always something". --Gilda Radner (1946 - 1989)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Nov Tue 11, 2014 4:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Mon 04, 2008 3:20 am
Posts: 867
Location: Coopersville, MI 49404-9643
Hi Gang!

I've got too many tubes to keep an inventory. The new tubes I keep in alphanumeric order by size (mini, octal, loctal, larger octal and antique) in paper shipping cartons. That is the box you would get 10 reams of standard letter size paper in. I use the bottom and tops as trays. They make two 17" by 11" trays 4" high. Your average size tube box will all fit in them if you sort by tube box size size. 170 mini's, 110 octal/loctal and 88 large octal/antique tubes per tray. I label the front of the boxes with the range of numbers that the box contains, i.e. 6AB4 thru 6AU6. I do that on a blank 5" by 8" index card that is folded in half and stuck in the front of the tray. All these trays of tubes are on 12" deep Rubbermaid wire shelving spaced 5 inches apart. The antiques tubes require 7 inch spacing because of the height of the tube boxes Used tubes go in bins on shelves by size/series as well. The bins I use are 17" deep and 4" high. I use the wire shelves here as well, 5 inches apart. I have varying widths of bins depending on the number of the tubes that I have. I put the tube type that's in the bin on a sticky note. That way I can change bin sizes without a lot of work and bunches of rewriting on the bins. On the floor under the shelves are 12" square boxes that have large numbers of tubes that are a single number, i.e., 50L6, 35Z5, etc. I don't keep odd voltage tubes other than the ones that are of actual use. This tube inventory takes up its own 16 foot square room. It's much faster to go look to see what I have than to inventory it. When I buy a bunch of tubes, I just sort them into the appropriate bins/boxes and pitch what I don't need or want. It's amazing, too, that after a while, I KNOW what I have and what I don't.

_________________
Kim Herron
W8ZV
kim.herron@sbcglobal.net
616-677-3706


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Nov Sun 23, 2014 7:55 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Thu 26, 2013 9:30 am
Posts: 49
I recently found a way to sort and actually find my tubes for use. I started with all 6 in one area and 12s in another. Then when looking for a tube I started separating into 6a b c etc.. in their own baggies. Then I went back and separated from 6a? So I have baggies narrowing down to the 3rd which makes it easy for me to find the tubes I need having to only go through 10 to 20 tubes. Baggies can hold maybe 4 or 5 different types when not a high quantity. It's still a work in progress but I have fixed 4 radios with the tubes I have on hand so slowly paying for itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you inventory your Vacuum Tubes?
PostPosted: Dec Tue 09, 2014 4:03 am 
New Member

Joined: Dec Tue 09, 2014 3:12 am
Posts: 2
I use Google Drive spreadsheets to inventory tubes. For the ones I am interested in, I include test data and notes such factory codes, date codes, condition of box, recent prices, subs, etc. Other tubes just get a simple model / manufacturer and count type of database. For the physical storage part I tend to keep tubes sorted by type and whether tested / untested in bins and tubs.

Oh, I label tube boxes by utilizing stickers on the underside of the flap for tested tubes. It is only a number that correlates to the particular tube in the database and Gm readings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 31 posts ]  Moderator: Chuck Schwark Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB