Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Mon 18, 2017 9:29 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Homebrew Cleaning Concoction
PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 3:48 am 

I was reading an old thread from 2011 on restoration of a 410B and a poster said they:

Wash with a mix of 70/30 709/household ammonia

Followed by 99% iso alcohol.

I started using "Super HFE Electronics Cleaner" but at 27 bucks a can I sure would like to know that ammonia mix/ concoction is. Anyone know? I am thinking I may try it on some wafer switches I screwed up using Deoxit before I knew better.

Post subject: Re: Homebrew Cleaning Concoction
PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 7:38 am 

709 is a type of cleaner sold in spray bottles around here, don't know if they sell it by you.

The OP is suggesting to mix it 70% 709 cleaner with 30% ammonia. I have no experience with this but would clarify the mix.

PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 1:25 pm 

409 yes, 709...never heard of it. Google brings up brake cleaners such as ST 709 for results for "709 cleaner" search.

PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 3:34 pm 

http://www.karnakcorp.com/images/PDF/709.pdf

PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 3:43 pm 

Thank you. Asphalt and Tar remover/ roofing products. I never would have come up with that one.

PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 3:56 pm 

I don't think this is the kind of cleaner you want to use on switches and pots, I would stick with alcohol or similar. This sounds more like a general chassis cleaner/degreaser.

PostPosted: Apr Thu 20, 2017 4:05 pm