Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Jan Sat 21, 2017 11:36 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: A Wire Recorder! ....Questions
PostPosted: Dec Fri 23, 2016 5:38 am 

{Moderator note: Several topics about this recorder have been merged into this thread. Please keep all questions and comments about this unit confined to this thread. Multiple topics about the same unit are allowed.}

I just bought a Webster-Chicago wire recorder model 80.. what is the proper way to thread this little monster? Also, is there a way to put in a line-in to record of a record player? How good do these sound? I'm totally new to wire recorders :D

Post subject: Re: A Wire Recorder!
PostPosted: Dec Fri 23, 2016 3:38 pm 

Quote:
How good do these sound?
Don't expect any hi-fi sound..good for voice though.

PostPosted: Dec Fri 23, 2016 4:14 pm 

These links may help:

http://lcweb2.loc.gov/master/mbrs/recor ... corder.pdf

https://www.smecc.org/wire_recorder_care_&_repair.htm

http://www.radiomuseum.org/r/webster_wi ... 0_180.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMf1kcdSI-8

Dave

PostPosted: Dec Sun 25, 2016 12:43 am 

Tbirdkid wrote:
Quote:
How good do these sound?
Don't expect any hi-fi sound..good for voice though.

I've been amazed at how good these can actually sound on music. Not hi-fi, per se, but much better than some of the cheaper tape recorders that followed. The wire is moving quite fast, so there is some high frequency content there (provided the head is still good). Wow and flutter isn't that bad because the wire is being pulled along by a fairly speed-stable take up spool.

PostPosted: Dec Sun 25, 2016 1:33 am 

I have a spool of wire with part of a 1950 Guy Lombardo radio show on it. Very bright and enjoyable. I remember this tune is on it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFxjnUPRwx4 BUT without the phony reverb you hear on this You-Tube clip.