Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jul Mon 16, 2018 3:19 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Dec Thu 15, 2016 5:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
Yes I aced the tech test, I bet I would have passed too and only one test fee. I swear my hind sight is SO much better that my foresight. lOL. I was just happy I passed the tech license.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Dec Thu 15, 2016 8:02 pm 
Member

Joined: May Fri 01, 2009 3:53 am
Posts: 1370
Location: Glendale, California
I also only studied for Tech class, but I passed the General test in the same session.

I can't seem to pull up WM4YTW in the FCC database.

_________________
Senior Analog Meter Technician @ Instrument Meter Specialties. Simpson 260 specialist.

John, KK6WHY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Dec Fri 16, 2016 2:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
Guess I can't remember my call sign yet. It's KM4YTW.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sat 28, 2018 2:18 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
I recieved my general license , now for the fun stuff. Getting a HF yaseu rig in the coming weeks

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sat 28, 2018 2:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32883
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Congratulations, Rich. Enjoy.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sat 28, 2018 2:26 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 16648
Location: Dayton Ohio
Congratulations Rich!

Which Yaesu are you getting? I recently picked up an FT-450D myself. :D

btw, I saw an article in QST where they are considering opening up HF Phone to Technician license on 80, 40 and 15.
Not sure whats going to happen.

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sat 28, 2018 3:38 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
Thanks leigh. Im getting a yeasu ft 101. Its a older one but my ham friend is giving it to me once its tuned up. Cant beat that. It will do fot now but ill eventually get one of the high tech models. I was trying to figure if i will be able to hit europe with a dipole , 40 meter about 40` off the ground with 100 watts.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sat 28, 2018 3:39 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
Oh i understand its almost a done deal. They have a completely new tech license test starting this summer.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sun 29, 2018 1:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 30, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 182
Location: Oakland Township, Michigan
Congratulations there Rich!

I've always been happy with Yaesu radios. I had an FT-101 years ago. Up until 2 years ago I was using an FT-102, complete with all the accessories. I replaced it with an FTDX-3000, but I can't bring myself to part with the FT-102.

Europe via 40 meters with a dipole and 100 watts won't be much of a problem when conditions are right.

_________________
Matt - WY8R
http://www.smokypond.com/gallery/main.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Sun 29, 2018 2:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
I was also looking at the Ft 450d . Its new but cheap. . Thanks for the info matt, i thknk the 101 has tube in the final. They say you cany find the nec tubes no more and if you replace with american there is a modification that has to be done. Beyond me.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 2:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2650
Location: Lewiston, ID
devildog63 wrote:
Oh i understand its almost a done deal. They have a completely new tech license test starting this summer.


Not approved yet, but I assume it will be.

_________________
The Golden Age of Hi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 5:01 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 656
Location: Westford, MA USA
Congrats on getting your ticket! I earned my Tech in 2012, and my General a year later. Six years before that, I'd tried to give myself an impetus to earn my ticket in the first place by buying an Icom IC-W32A 2M/440 HT at a hamfest. Resisted the urge to key it up, but it still took several years before I got the nerve to take the test (after doing lots of studying using HamTestOnline, of course). I could've taken my General test then and there, but felt the need to wait (and do more studying) before taking the plunge.

With regards to question set replacement, it happens every so often. Four years after I earned my General, I learned that the Amateur Extra exam was going to be overhauled, and the set of questions was going to be replaced with tougher ones. As the then-existing question set was put into place shortly before I got my Tech in the first place, I sought to upgrade before the new set went into effect, since it would seem to 'match' what was current when I'd passed my other tests. Did lots of cramming with HamTestOnline, found an exam in my general area just in the nick of time, and managed to pass. Still have yet to do much with my new privileges, but I'm amassing a collection of pretty nice rigs. :mrgreen:
-Adam KB1YTN/AE

_________________
Adam Vaughn
Collector of old computers, video game systems, radios and other electronic equipment...
Visit my page at
http://www.electronixandmore.com/adam/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 5:17 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2650
Location: Lewiston, ID
I did my studying for the tech, and took both the tech and general at the same time, and passed both. I had done very little study for the general, but it's not that much tougher. The Extra, though, was a much tougher test.

_________________
The Golden Age of Hi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 7:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Sat 07, 2009 11:37 pm
Posts: 1878
Location: Sayreville, NJ 08872
Clay Nicolsen wrote:
devildog63 wrote:
Oh i understand its almost a done deal. They have a completely new tech license test starting this summer.


Not approved yet, but I assume it will be.


The FCC has yet to even acknowledge or respond to the ARRL proposed petition. No FCC "RM" number has been assigned and obviously no request for comments. This is not the first time the ARRL has sought "entry level" type expansion on the amateur bands. In the past, the FCC shot down their proposals. Even if the FCC sought value in the proposal, it could take many months, or maybe even years, before it would be implemented.
Of course, if you go around to some of the "other" Internet amateur forums discussing this proposed change, you could get the idea it was going to happen within the next couple of days or weeks. :D

_________________
Pete, WA2CWA - "A cluttered desk is a sign of genius"
http://www.classicradiomanuals.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 6:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 11, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Ga
Yeah Rodgers that. I just seen where the test is. Changing this july. . Maybe it's just a new test and not for the expanded privileges.

_________________
Rich
KM4YTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 6:54 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32883
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Operation on the HF bands is controlled by international treaties.

I think that stops at 30 Mc (but don't quote me).
Freqs above that are subject only to national regs.

I was first licensed (Novice and Tech) in 1960.
Upgraded to Advanced and then Extra 50 years later.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: Apr Mon 30, 2018 7:53 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Sat 07, 2009 11:37 pm
Posts: 1878
Location: Sayreville, NJ 08872
devildog63 wrote:
Yeah Rodgers that. I just seen where the test is. Changing this july. . Maybe it's just a new test and not for the expanded privileges.

Yes

_________________
Pete, WA2CWA - "A cluttered desk is a sign of genius"
http://www.classicradiomanuals.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Technician license
PostPosted: May Tue 01, 2018 2:26 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Thu 20, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Albion, CA, USA, 95410
Yep, it is just a new question pool, not a new license structure.

The FT-450D is a good radio. I have one and have used it a lot and like it. The only thing I would say against it is the display can be hard to see when in glare. I dragged it around on a lot of portable operations and it has taken the punishment. You can't beat it for the price.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 38 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David Kulka, Mr. Detrola, Phonojim, psundstrom58, Timothybaf, Tube Radio and 17 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB