Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Apr Tue 25, 2017 9:35 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Century Link Voice Mail
PostPosted: Jan Wed 11, 2017 7:14 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Albuquerque, NM 87123
How do I turn off Century Link voice mail?

I recently went to Century Link for internet service and had no idea I was signing up for voice mail. Someone I do service work for just came to the door and said he's been calling for two days and can't get through because my mail box is full; my sister just said that the phone line just disconnects. I have an answering machine and don't want voice mail. I tried doing an internet search and found everything but the correct advice.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Century Link Voice Mail
PostPosted: Jan Wed 11, 2017 10:22 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 06, 2006 4:03 am
Posts: 2631
Location: South of Richmond, VA 25 miles down the pike.
Here's a guess. I have Verizon, changed from Comcast, and had same problem as your problem. Didn't like it and wanted my messages on my answering machine. Here's what I had to do. Went to my Verizon account, dropped it from my plan (made a change to the services) tho it was free. Change took affect in couple days. You might ought to "change" your services in your Century account?
Bill J.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Century Link Voice Mail
PostPosted: Jan Wed 11, 2017 11:06 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9453
Location: Oakland, CA
http://www.centurylink.com/home/help/re ... ice%20mail


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Century Link Voice Mail
PostPosted: Jan Thu 12, 2017 12:18 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1282
Location: Butte, MT USA
Thanks for the link, Alan. I just cleaned out two years' worth of old messages on Century Link.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Century Link Voice Mail
PostPosted: Jan Thu 12, 2017 5:47 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Albuquerque, NM 87123
Really dumb. Went to the link that Alan gave. Had instructions to submit area code and prefix to "get the right information for setting up voice mail".... Then got a message saying that information for my area was not available. Some kind of national secret I guess.

Called the phone company and they set my voice mail to 8 rings, so now my answering machine should pick up first. Will it?

Had the phone tech come out today because of more noise and crackling on the line, plus to install a "New" modem that will (supposedly) give me the 20mbs that was promised. Well, she was here for a couple of hours; she was the only one who had any gumption at all. She went to the substation and found the problem: she described it as an unbalance on the line that was causing all the noise. Is it fixed? I wouldn't bet on it, but after a few hours the noise has not come back (as it did even before the last tech got in his truck). One problem though: she said the work order was written incorrectly (again), and she couldn't install the correct modem, so I still have 11.4 to 14.9mbs.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB