Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Mon 11, 2017 1:25 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 7:00 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
About 10 years ago I purchased a case of these Starbuck radio chassis and quite frankly forgot about them.

Now that I found them in my basement again, I am thinking about several projects.

However no instructions and I want to make sure I connect these correctly since they are 120v and not 9 v.

The speaker plug in and the transformer plug in are obvious since they are unique plugs.

I am thinking the power cord connects to the red and black wires and the light attached to the brown and blue off the transformer because of matching wires.

Google came up with nothing.

What do you guys think?

Thanks

Attachment:
P1100943.jpg
P1100943.jpg [ 97.65 KiB | Viewed 289 times ]


Attachment:
P1100944.jpg
P1100944.jpg [ 90.53 KiB | Viewed 289 times ]


Attachment:
P1100945.jpg
P1100945.jpg [ 90.17 KiB | Viewed 289 times ]


Attachment:
P1100946.jpg
P1100946.jpg [ 56.92 KiB | Viewed 289 times ]

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 8:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
Do Not Connect 120 volts AC to the red and black wires!

Not sure what those wires were used for but that's the low voltage side of the step down transformer. Probably around 6 - 9 Volts with a center tap.

The 120 volt input of the transformer is on the opposite side (Brown, Blue)

The lamp is not required for the radio to function. You can add that later to your project.

You can check the resistance of the 120 volt side with an ohm meter, a typical 9 volt transformer of that size is usually 200 ohms or higher.

Looks like this board uses a common AM/FM chip TA2003p
http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-p ... 2003P.html

with a separate audio IC

_________________
Rocco


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 8:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
so to make sure I understand

Power cord connects to the brown and blue of the transformer

Maybe the red and black are for the bulb?

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
The bulb looks to be 120 volt, can you confirm?
it has brown and blue wires, same as the 120 volt line.

so, not likely connected to red and black wires, that's only 9 volts AC

_________________
Rocco


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:25 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Rocco53 wrote:
The bulb looks to be 120 volt, can you confirm?
it has brown and blue wires, same as the 120 volt line.

so, not likely connected to red and black wires, that's only 9 volts AC



So what would the red and black wires connect to?

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 25671
Location: SoCal, 91387
You can probably test the board with a nine volt battery, connected to the circuit side of the rectifier Diodes.

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:45 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
fifties wrote:
You can probably test the board with a nine volt battery, connected to the circuit side of the rectifier Diodes.

Good idea fifties, even 4 AA's (6 volt) would work.

the AM/FM chip is rated at 7 volts max so be careful

what are the voltage ratings on the E-caps of this board?

_________________
Rocco


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:53 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
oldradio99 wrote:
Rocco53 wrote:
The bulb looks to be 120 volt, can you confirm?
it has brown and blue wires, same as the 120 volt line.

so, not likely connected to red and black wires, that's only 9 volts AC



So what would the red and black wires connect to?

we may never know the answer to that, could have been power to a dial lamp or another accessory.

_________________
Rocco


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 9:58 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 19395
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
The red and black wires appear to be coming from a switch on the volume control, then pass through (but do not connect to) holes near the transformer secondary connections. I suspect they are to be wired to interrupt the 120 volt input to the transformer primary and bulb. Where is the bulb supposed to be mounted in the cabinet?

T1 and C10 appear to be missing.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 10:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
I noticed T1 and C10 were missing as well.

but now I see that the red and black are not soldered to the board, they go straight to the switch.

Good eye Dave

_________________
Rocco


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 10:21 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Dave Doughty wrote:
The red and black wires appear to be coming from a switch on the volume control, then pass through (but do not connect to) holes near the transformer secondary connections. I suspect they are to be wired to interrupt the 120 volt input to the transformer primary and bulb. Where is the bulb supposed to be mounted in the cabinet?

T1 and C10 appear to be missing.

Dave


No cabinets

and What is T1 and C10?

You lost me

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 10:41 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 01, 2013 10:05 pm
Posts: 1365
Location: Rayleigh, BC, CANADA
T1 would be a chrome metal IF coil same as the other one on the board and C10 would be a small ceramic cap similar to C19 Circled in red below-

It may be optional, the radio could still work without those parts.


Attachments:
AM-FM Board-a.jpg
AM-FM Board-a.jpg [ 126.82 KiB | Viewed 252 times ]

_________________
Rocco
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Thu 23, 2017 3:09 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Rocco53 wrote:
T1 would be a chrome metal IF coil same as the other one on the board and C10 would be a small ceramic cap similar to C19 Circled in red below-

It may be optional, the radio could still work without those parts.




Thanks

I will try firing one of these up over the weekend after I stuff myself with turkey

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Thu 23, 2017 7:34 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 25671
Location: SoCal, 91387
Rocco53 wrote:
T1 would be a chrome metal IF coil same as the other one on the board and C10 would be a small ceramic cap similar to C19 Circled in red below-

It may be optional, the radio could still work without those parts.

That other can looks to have a red core, as in it being an oscillator coil. Could be that the chip doesn't need an external IF filter, which is why they left it and the cap out.

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Thu 23, 2017 12:11 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 19395
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
oldradio99 wrote:
No cabinets
Sorry, I must have been thinking about another thread.

I agree that T1 and C10 might not be needed.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Fri 24, 2017 6:17 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Got brave this morning!

Wired the power cord to the brown and blue of the transformer.

Plugged the cord into my variac and brought it up slowly.

Radio started playing at 60v AC.

Discovered the radio is AM/FM using the switch on the back. Decent reception and playing for such a basic set.

I connected the bulb directly to the cord and it is a 110v bulb.

So what that leaves is that black and red wire coming off the volume control.

With the radio playing, no AC or DC voltage between the red and black.

With radio off there is some variable resistance as the volume knob is turned.

Cant open the volume control without breaking the plastic back. Glued heavily. But if I have to open it I can.

I wonder if there is some way to wire the bulb into the AC and these wires to control the brightness? Is that a crazy idea?

On the red and black wires, the holes that the wires go through are marked AC.

Having the bub direct to the cord means its on all the time.

Thanks.

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: case of radio chassis - how to wire
PostPosted: Nov Fri 24, 2017 6:57 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4389
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
I GOT IT!

The red and black wires control the light being on or off

So here is how it all gets wired

1. One side of the AC plug gets connected to blue wire form the transformer and the red wire marked AC
2. Connect the other wide of the AC plug to the brown wire from the transformer and to the brown wire from the lamp.
3. Connect the Blue wire from the lamp to the Black wire marked AC

Plug the speaker into HC-2
Plug the transformer into HC-1


Now that I have it, it seems so simple.

Thanks to the group.

Art

_________________
Art's Antique Radio Collection - A work in progress

http://www.myantiqueradio.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 17 posts ]  Moderator: Dave Doughty

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: egg, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 13 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB