Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Mon 18, 2017 1:57 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Hallicrafters S-40B, no sound, IF Can issue
PostPosted: Mar Mon 20, 2017 8:14 pm 

Hello all,

I purchased a Hallicrafters S40-B general coverage radio that I've been restoring to hopefully use for many years to come. My problem stems from when I was trying to align the thing. I had stations that would come in with my primitive antenna and that was okay. Nothing on Band 4 mind you but the others I could find a strong station or two. This was after I had replaced two faulty tubes and did a recap using Hayseed Hamfests recap kit. The recap kit was awesome and I highly recommend it versus just buying separate individual caps. I also did the usual check and change out of tolerance resistors, which I found many in this set, and for a short time all seemed well apart from an alignment which needed to be done due to the recapping although I did hear what was sounding like crashing sounds like something out of a thunderstorm.