Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently May Mon 28, 2018 10:59 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Zenith TO 3000-1
PostPosted: Dec Sat 10, 2011 2:26 am 

I was given a Zenith 3000-1 that needed some work. The front cover pins wwere broken, fixed that, dial light didn't work, fixed that and it needed a good cleaning.
I'm a heating technician and have no experience with electronics. I turned the radio on and the only band that works is FM. some static on the SW stations LW and Broadcast are quiet. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get it working? Is there a "dummies guide" to testing these transistor radios?
Thanks

Post subject: Re: Zenith TO 3000-1
PostPosted: Dec Sat 10, 2011 2:49 am 

Here's the service info, for a start:
http://www.transoceanic.nostalgiaair.or ... 3000sm.pdf

PostPosted: Dec Sat 10, 2011 2:57 am 

tagski wrote:
I was given a Zenith 3000-1 that needed some work. The front cover pins wwere broken, fixed that, dial light didn't work, fixed that and it needed a good cleaning.
I'm a heating technician and have no experience with electronics. I turned the radio on and the only band that works is FM. some static on the SW stations LW and Broadcast are quiet. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get it working? Is there a "dummies guide" to testing these transistor radios?

I had one like that that I got going just the other day. Fixing these things is just a matter of common sense and a little knowledge of how they work. You are in good shape in that the FM works. I have one where I *never* got the FM to work properly and I am still considering what more I could do. AM is relatively simple by comparison. Your problem is likely to be either a problem with the AM RF section transistors, or problems with the bandswitch.