Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Fri 15, 2017 8:42 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 2:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 18, 2013 2:43 am
Posts: 764
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Should this cap replacement be 1 cap or 2 caps? I have drawn two different options on the PDF A or B it is cap C42 on the PDF


Attachments:
pilot caps.pdf [64.77 KiB]
Downloaded 30 times
cap.jpg
cap.jpg [ 45.76 KiB | Viewed 270 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 8:15 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10969
Location: Mpls, Minnesota
You are dealing with only one capacitor between two of the motor windings. Any 60 mfd motor start capacitor should work fine although you will probably have to use a higher AC voltage rating as I doubt if you will find a 60 mfd 30 volt AC capacitor.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 9:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 18, 2013 2:43 am
Posts: 764
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Thanks I order one


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 10:00 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 16, 2007 7:02 am
Posts: 2210
Location: Lexington, KY USA
You can make your own AC electrolytic by connecting two identical DC caps in series, back to back. As with the original AC capacitor, this will be good for intermittent service only.

Here are two parts that might work well, depending on your motor current.

Use parts with a good ripple current rating. A long rated life at 105C, and an extra high voltage rating will get you longer life.

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Un ... qfAA%3d%3d

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Un ... ZH3w%3d%3d

By the way, does anyone know the voltage and current draw for the Pilot motor? I suspect it might be 24VAC and an amp or two?

Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 10:28 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 9101
Location: Victoria, Australia
I would like to see where that cap is in the scheme of things. Motor start and motor run caps are different and they are also different than normal caps, as they are normally used on utility power.

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 10:31 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 31405
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Inexpensive motor RUN capacitors are readily available.
It's hardly worth the effort to "make" one.

Motor START caps, on the other hand, are the cheapest electronic parts ever made.
They're not even good for testing the acoustic resonance of a metal trash can.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de Leigh W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 11:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 16, 2007 7:02 am
Posts: 2210
Location: Lexington, KY USA
Unfortunately, low voltage AC motor capacitors of any sort have become hard to find.

They were once available at every electronics parts house, to replace the caps in TV antenna rotators. WW Grainger sold 24VAC gearmotors and the caps to make them go. Those days are gone.

These were all pretty cheap, non-polarized electrolytic capacitors. CDE was a popular make. These caps were not good for continuous duty, but served pretty well in their intended applications.

The original capacitor in the radio was a rather small non-polar electrolytic. Back to back DC caps work fine in the actual application.

There is no question that a 60uF polypropolyne motor run cap such as this 375VAC monster will last forever in a low voltage application, and it's priced at $5.26 / 1. But I doubt if it will fit, much less look nice under the radio chassis:

https://www.1000bulbs.com/product/20157 ... 0M01N.html

Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Tue 05, 2017 1:29 am 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 9101
Location: Victoria, Australia
Some motor run caps have stud mount, others may need a clamp, so they can often be on the sides of the pan, out of the way.

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Tue 05, 2017 2:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 18, 2013 2:43 am
Posts: 764
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This one has a clamp under the flat bar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cap question
PostPosted: Dec Tue 05, 2017 12:41 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 9101
Location: Victoria, Australia
ktewell wrote:
This one has a clamp under the flat bar


That's fine: But Murphy says it won't fit the new one. :)

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 10 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: egg, mgrant, Philco Fan, ZenithStratosphere and 18 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB