Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 17, 2017 8:30 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Fri 01, 2017 5:38 am 
New Member

Joined: Apr Sun 02, 2017 8:18 am
Posts: 23
Location: 01039
Recently picked this up.
Cleaned controls, had a 5V4 inside with 5Y3.
Changed to good testing 5Y3 and 83.
Turns on, meter jumps all over and sometimes doesn't come up.
Otherwise, looks like it WANTS to test a good 12AX7 ok.
Comes up sometimes.
Any advise on where to start?
Tks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Fri 01, 2017 3:19 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1381
Location: Milford, PA
sounds like dirty switches or socket pins could cause that intermittent action. Great tester, good luck.

_________________
_____________________

Bruce


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Fri 01, 2017 7:48 pm 
Member

Joined: Apr Thu 11, 2013 11:03 pm
Posts: 358
Location: 649 Lacy Wilkerson Rd Roxboro, NC 27574
I have one as well. Great tester. Don't go overboard with the contact cleaner.

_________________
Joel Walker
Fix something.........it will make you feel better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Fri 01, 2017 8:42 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 603
Location: Columbus Ohio
Start with the ac connection, can you do a "line adjust" ok?

_________________
It takes all kinds of critters to make Uncle Vincent's Fritters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Sat 02, 2017 3:33 pm 
Member

Joined: Jun Fri 19, 2009 6:34 pm
Posts: 7210
Location: Long Island
How did it happen to have a 5V4 and a 5Y3 in it? 5V4 is an octal tube, no sub for 83 which has a 4-prong base.

If somebody made up a socket adapter it might have worked--but not very well--and no big deal to switch it back to the correct tube. Then one could go after the usual Hickok 'suspects' like dirty switches and controls, and the electrolytic across the meter.

But if somebody changed the tube socket it would indicate tinkering occurred in the past. Then anything could be going on.

_________________
"Hell, there are no rules here--we're trying to accomplish something!"

Thomas A. Edison


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Sat 02, 2017 3:51 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Tue 30, 2014 6:08 am
Posts: 2117
Location: The Old Dominion VA 23518
Just curious, did you recap it? My 752A had 5 caps - 2 electrolytic caps and three paper caps.....

_________________
Brian
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since 1979"
USN Retired 1984-2006 (Avionics/Cal)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hickok 752 Tube tester
PostPosted: Dec Mon 04, 2017 5:15 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Sat 19, 2011 2:57 am
Posts: 85
Location: 97330
Just a suggestion-- as you work your way through this tester you should use a different tube type to measure your results. 12AX7's invariably test low on the Hickok's (and probably many other brands of tube testers) and you may be mislead by erroneous test results. 6L6's are used as the "calibration" tube for these testers.

Terry

_________________
"Hardware eventually fails. Software eventually works" - Michael Hartung


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB