Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Fri 31, 2014 7:27 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: RCA 45 player questions
PostPosted: Dec Mon 19, 2011 1:55 am 

I am a new forum member and I am new to restoring radios and 45 players. I have been having a lot of fun restoring RCA 45 players for myself and friends.
First question: I have repainted rusty or scuffed up motorboards of several players with the RP-190 changer. I do not have an airbrush and have used spray paints from Lowes/Home Depot. I can't seem to find anything that matches the original color (I call it "honey gold" or "copper-gold"). Any suggestions?
Second, I have got most of these players (RP-168 and 190) tracking at 4.7-5 grams. I leave the spring attached to the tone arm counterweight in place even with a lighter replacement cartridge and have not had any problems with poor tracking. Should I be trying for a lower number to help preserve record life?
Thanks

Post subject: Re: RCA 45 player questions
PostPosted: Dec Mon 19, 2011 4:19 am 

Location: Halfway between Possum Trot and Monkey's Eyebrow KY
For you gold color look at automotive spray paints matching better.

PostPosted: Dec Mon 19, 2011 4:56 am 

Great idea-thanks!

PostPosted: Dec Mon 19, 2011 6:13 am 

pabilo21 wrote:
I am a new forum member and I am new to restoring radios and 45 players. I have been having a lot of fun restoring RCA 45 players for myself and friends.
First question: I have repainted rusty or scuffed up motorboards of several players with the RP-190 changer. I do not have an airbrush and have used spray paints from Lowes/Home Depot. I can't seem to find anything that matches the original color (I call it "honey gold" or "copper-gold"). Any suggestions?