Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Nov Thu 27, 2014 11:54 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Signal Generator
PostPosted: Jun Wed 30, 2010 2:29 pm 

Greetings to all,
I just recently purchased an Ig-102 signal generator that had a stripped knob that needs repair (I was given my money back plus the generator). I could not find the knob that was needed and have to repair it. It has to be repaired, re-capped, new leads and connections, and then adjusting it. I will eventually have to purchase a frequency counter to complete the process and hope it all works.
I am still a newbie and working two jobs at 55, I am wondering is it even worth all the time and money for all of that VS. buying a new solid state with a built in frequency counter.
I would appreciate your opinions considering nostalgia, value, and accuracy.
If anyone can recommend a good, inexpensive generator with a frequency counter that’s applicable to antique radio work, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you,
Vinny A.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Jun Wed 30, 2010 3:53 pm 

It really depends on what you want the SG to do and how obsessive you are. There were numerous small repair shops that worked for years and repairmen fed their families using little more than cheap Heath Kits and Knight Kits. At least for now there are still plenty of radio stations at known frequencies to use as calibration points for those types of SGs and the results are quite adequate for most of the old sets we work with.

The appeal of this hobby is that one can get a huge amount of enjoyment and expertise with a minimal cash outlay.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Jun Wed 30, 2010 5:25 pm