Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Aug Wed 27, 2014 8:12 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: What equipment do you guys use?
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2010 2:33 pm 

I am new to the sport here and I was just curious what models of equipment you use.

Isolation Transformers
Variable Transformers
Multi-meters, etc...

Also, where do you think the best place to buy this stuff is. I am going to be in the market for some of this stuff soon, just looking to see what I can expect to pay for some of these items.

Just curious. Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2010 6:29 pm 

Hi there --

Good question overall ! I'm under the impression that you'll get lots of answers here to it. . .

Overall, there is a HUGE variety of stuff that is used. Chances are good that you won't get one standard brand used by everybody, but you might come close.

For me, I use a PowerStat variac, and have never had any problems at all with it.

I use several multimeters and VOM's, most of the VOM's are military, and work like champs.

I use Tektronix O-scopes, and with the exception of an OS-8/C military "pocket scope", I continue to use Tek gear. Why ? Hands down, it's the best made ! The stuff I use is older Tek gear, but works nonetheless for what I need. I use a Tek 515A scope from 40+ years ago, and it is a definite keeper ! Big and heavy yes, reliable, DEFINITELY YES !

For other stuff, it depends on what I'm doing. I use simple gear, ranging from my EICO 147 signal tracer, to more expensive stuff, like my URM-25/F signal gen. There is a place for most any kind of electronics equipment, it mainly is dependent on the restorer's tastes.