Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Wed 01, 2014 7:14 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: DMM with Cx and Lx modes???
PostPosted: Dec Thu 23, 2010 4:19 am 

I’m a hobbyist not a professional electronics guy, I never had what it takes to work in electronics and never will have it. But, I do have fun playing with this old stuff and manage to suffer thru a few restorations each year. About 10 or 15 years ago I bought a Wavetek DM27XT for about a hundred bucks because it was the only meter that was not only a DMM but one that had scales for Inductance and Capacitance also Now I’m aware that it isn’t gonna check for voltage breakdown at 600v or anything like that, but it did come in handy for an amateur like me to check those cryptic values that are stamped on those caps in the junk drawer on the end of the bench. I did give me an idea of the inductance somewhat also when I was playing around with crystal sets and such.
Now to get to the point. The Cx and Lx modes quit working last year and I’d like to find another one that has the same capabilities. Or maybe just a dedicated meter that I could get a rough measurement of Capacitance and Inductance.
Is there anything out there that is in the price range of an old blue-collar retiree, hobby radio fixer upper??

Denny Graham
Sandwich, IL

Post subject:
PostPosted: Dec Thu 23, 2010 4:36 am 

I bought a Triplett 2103 a couple years ago for around a hundred. In addition to volts, resistance and current, it has a frequency counter, capacitance function, inductance, signal generator, temperature, logic scale and transistor tester. It also has an rs232 interface so you can log data to a PC. 3 1/2 digit.

My only complaint is it doesn't have a diode junction check. Well, it might, but I haven't found it; I just use an old BI meter for that.