Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Jul Mon 22, 2019 1:12 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Hello, and I've got a new project! GE H-87
PostPosted: Jun Sat 15, 2019 6:41 am 

Hi, Just an introductory post to say hi to the forum. I recently got a pretty good deal on an GE H-87 that a neighbor needed to sell to move - beautiful cabinet and clean chassis - no barn time for this one, so I risked $25. I was a TV/Radio repairman back in the 70's, until the throwaway electronics was a clear threat on the horizon. I'm a retired chemist now, but have still dabbled in musical instrument amp and guitar repair, appliance and radio repair over the last 40 years. I'm just one of those guys (like many of you) who just gets a lot of satisfaction about repairing broken things! My GE has the baby vomit smelling shrunken escutcheon (now removed and double bagged in the garage) and the broken "power beam" section of the wafer switch. Fortunately, it has a small clean break that will respond well to some epoxy and glass fiber repair. The rubber insulation on every non-fabric wire is disintegrating, but as soon as I can verify that there are no B+ shorts, I'll pull the tubes and check for ripple, and go from there. If I can get the old girl working, my plan is to build a low powered AM transmitter to stream PC playlists to the radio. Or, since it has a phono input, mod a bluetooth speaker to feed the same. But I'm pretty rusty, so I'm sure I'll have some questions for the forum. If it works, I'm also going to fabricate a new escutcheon w/o the benefit of 3D printing, and cast a new knob, so I'll post progress on that if it comes to be.
Thanks, James

Post subject: Re: Hello, and I've got a new project! GE H-87
PostPosted: Jun Sat 15, 2019 9:54 am 

Looking forward to the pictures.

PostPosted: Jun Sat 15, 2019 2:36 pm