Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Mar Thu 21, 2019 6:40 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Sep Sun 02, 2018 4:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 05, 2007 11:08 pm
Posts: 2739
Location: Calgary Alberta
I recapped a Westinghouse mode 165 and I could not get anything but a loud motor boating high pitched sound out of it.
A good friend who was helping me find the problem said ''Make sure the tube shields are in place''.
I did not have tube shields when I bought it so I never thought much about it, but after putting them on it works very well
It was a tough lesson learned , but one I won't forget.
MAKE SURE THE TUBE SHIELDS ARE IN PLACE
Dan in Calgary


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Sep Sun 02, 2018 4:39 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13497
Location: S. Dartmouth MA 02748-1225 USA
:D

_________________
Smith's Ale Gives Strength, Smith Bros. Brewers, New Bedford MA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Sep Sun 02, 2018 6:55 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4464
Location: Charleston, W.Va.
Hi Dan,
Yes, this is good advice. Sometimes the presence or absence of a tube shield seems to make little difference. Other times (as in your case) it makes all the difference in the world.

Since all manufacturers were concerned about cost, we have to assume that tube shields were seldom used unless they felt there was a good and sufficient reason to do so.

_________________
Poston


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Sep Sun 16, 2018 4:56 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Sun 13, 2012 8:12 pm
Posts: 11769
Location: Central PA 16801
here is a thread I started on the infamous motorboating, squealing, variable frequency howl when tuning a station.

http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/vie ... 6&t=302323

steve

_________________
You have enemies ? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Sep Tue 25, 2018 2:31 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug Wed 26, 2015 9:41 pm
Posts: 1157
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
I have a sneaking suspicion that my theremin might need these.

_________________
Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Oct Mon 01, 2018 5:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 8511
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
Watch out for those late 20s and early 30s sets which had one-piece shields with dividers between the tubes; sometimes, they are missing.

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PUT the TUBE shields on
PostPosted: Oct Sun 07, 2018 4:30 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 5563
Location: 253 Blanche St. Plymouth, MI USA
Tim Tress wrote:
Watch out for those late 20s and early 30s sets which had one-piece shields with dividers between the tubes; sometimes, they are missing.


yes ! Especially the Philco 20. 70, 90 series. You can peak them worth a darn without them oscillating unless the shields are on. Seems they are often missing. Thats why I had repro's made of those 3. Had them at Kutztown on my tables, some of you commented about them.
Mark Oppat


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ]  Moderator: Chuck Schwark

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



Search for:
Jump to:  


























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB