Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Aug Fri 23, 2019 2:07 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Tube push pull amplifier question
PostPosted: Nov Fri 04, 2016 4:16 pm 

Hello vacuum tube fans! I am new to A.R.: Finished restoring a stereo push pull amplifier and I find a 20 mV 60 hz
contamination in only one of the 4 pwr grids. not caused by tube problem or pwr supply fault, without input signal,
the hum is eliminated by pulling out the other c0ntralateral tube, not the tube of the problem. Filament circuit ok.

Thanking you in advance Vintelectra

Post subject: Re: Tube push pull amplifier question
PostPosted: Nov Fri 04, 2016 4:43 pm 

Welcome to the forum!

Can we see a schematic?

If it goes away when you pull another tube, it could just be that you're changing the loading on a filter....or maybe changing the operating point of the P-P pair. Try swapping the problem tube with another one.

PostPosted: Nov Fri 04, 2016 8:50 pm 

Thank you for taking your time Mark; Pics attached. Fisher 500-c with replaced OPT with the fisher 400 opts
Tubes have no effect since I swapped for another new set of 7591s and also swapped between them.

additional abnormal findings are: Very low power output in both channels. Sine wave into drivers but square wave into power grids. V-R analysis oK, new driver 12ax7 s Thank you: Martin

( for some reason cannot attach pics or avatar. I am new)

PostPosted: Nov Sat 05, 2016 1:03 am 

Have you replaced or changed anything in the 500C output circuits other than the transformers ?

If not, are you sure that you have not exchanged the plate leads on each output transformer resulting in positive feedback, rather than negative feedback?
-Chuck

PostPosted: Nov Sat 05, 2016 6:22 am