Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jul Tue 23, 2019 9:38 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Sep Thu 06, 2018 10:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2015 6:15 am
Posts: 1165
Location: Dos Rios, CA. region
Yeah, that extra Schumacher OPT was pretty expensive at the time (around $160 if I recall) ten years ago..
However my friend Tom figured out we could get a lot more low frequencies for use as a bass amp than with the stock 25V OPT...
As you have said, this was not a "easy" project and took quite some time (perhaps 3 months) and genial tolerance (on my part) to see it through...

Les Dudek's bassist used it for one of his live outdoor performances and I thought I was listening to Andy West from the Dixie Dregs
as they played a few Dregs covers, he even signed the side of the cabinet he liked it so much more than his GK SS 200 watter...
Most of the solos and interesting hooks and riffs on the Allman Bros Dickey Betts tunes from the '73 album "Brothers and Sisters", "Ramblin' Man" and "Jessica" were played in Capricorn studios by Les Dudek, not Dickey or Duane.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Sep Sat 08, 2018 3:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 18, 2015 3:01 am
Posts: 119
Location: Lexington KY
Here is a link to the DuKane 1A831 thread. The 1A831 used eight 8417s. The schematic for the 1A831 is on page 3.
http://bit.ly/2NxaXtW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Sep Sat 08, 2018 11:45 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14544
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
I can only imagine, eight 8417 tubes in the output!!! Holy Mackerel....

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Sep Sun 09, 2018 12:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 8846
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
DuKane built an amplifier back in the 1950s for their school PA systems, which used a pair of 6CD6G tubes in the output stage. I have one, and it has a lot of power; one of these days, I will have to dig it out and put it on the Heathkit AA-1, to see how much.

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Sep Sun 16, 2018 7:39 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 18, 2015 3:01 am
Posts: 119
Location: Lexington KY
Don Cavey wrote:
I can only imagine, eight 8417 tubes in the output!!! Holy Mackerel....

I have a total of 4 of these amps. 32 beam power tubes.
They all work too. It's not really used audio I just heat the house with them......XP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Apr Wed 24, 2019 12:16 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 826
Location: Opelika, AL
Getting back to these things after they had to go on the back burner... somehow I missed the notifications for replies when y'all were talking!

_________________
filling in the gaps in my education...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Apr Thu 25, 2019 9:52 am 
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 20, 2019 2:19 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Denmark
Amplifiers which are direct-coupled must have good tubes in the previous stages, or the bias will be wrong. I had that problem in a McIntosh MC75, where a gassy driver tube caused the outputs to cherry up. If you find any leaky caps feeding the output tubes, better "bite the bullet" and change all of them.

Many, if not most, of the classic amps used a selenium rectifier in the bias supply. This is trouble waiting to happen, and should be replaced.

_________________
[url=https://www.craftsway.info/bedding/kids-bedding/surf-baby-bedding-2/]craftsway.info[/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dukane 1a775 amps
PostPosted: Apr Fri 26, 2019 1:52 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 8846
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
I can't agree more; I do rebuilds on a lot of classic amps, and the selenium rectifier is one of the first things to go. As was mentioned, in a McIntosh amp, everything has to be just right. Diodes and capacitors are a LOT cheaper than output tubes!

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB