Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jul Wed 17, 2019 3:21 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Akai 1710 R2R
PostPosted: Mar Sun 10, 2019 12:20 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Sun 08, 2011 8:52 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Bay City Mi
was given this unit from owner that said it was sitting in storage for years and he had no use for it , so I plugged it in to my variac and brought it up slowly... everything was good until it stated smoking... tell tale smell of burning transformer.... I pulled the fuse and someone put in a 20 amp fuse!!.... so now I know I need to replace the power transformer and caps... I found the owners manual and service manual on line... but one thing that is not mentioned anywhere ... what size fuse is it suppose to take ... anyone have one of these units that can tell me?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Akai 1710 R2R
PostPosted: Mar Sun 10, 2019 12:50 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Fri 12, 2016 1:49 am
Posts: 742
Location: Houston, TX
The parts list says fuse F2 is 2A. This service manual is shared between the 1700 and 1710. On the schemo, it shows F1 (fuse post) on the plug, so I'll assume F1=F2=2A.

The 1710W schemo, however, shows 1.5A @ 100-120V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Akai 1710 R2R
PostPosted: Mar Sun 10, 2019 1:50 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Sun 08, 2011 8:52 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Bay City Mi
Thanks for the reply.... seems weird they don't even have a label on the back of the machine...


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dutch Rabbit, pauls.ironhorse and 2 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
cron




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB