Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jul Wed 17, 2019 10:09 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Fri 14, 2019 7:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4609
Location: Eschew Obfuscation Virginia 23005
Does anyone recognize this ST-70 Clone Manufacturer, etc.?

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

TIA,

Terry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Fri 14, 2019 9:37 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Fri 18, 2008 10:02 am
Posts: 2104
Location: near ST Louis Mo 62002
Well it has a PA60 power transfomer , so most likely someone just chromed the end bells of the power transfomers and made their own faceplate for the run of the mill ST 70 .They also added a extra filter cap , did away with the 5AR4 and added AC ballance pots so the EL34s won't have to be matched .


Can you read the number on the output transformers ( A470 ) ? , that will tell you for sure what it is .

_________________
Mark
(Conti the brain damaged robot )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Fri 14, 2019 10:13 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4609
Location: Eschew Obfuscation Virginia 23005
What do you suppose that DIN connector is for?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Fri 14, 2019 10:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Fri 18, 2008 10:02 am
Posts: 2104
Location: near ST Louis Mo 62002
radioterry wrote:
What do you suppose that DIN connector is for?


Power for a preamp , they did away with the octal sockets on the font . Trace them back to see if B+ and filament voltages go to the pins .

_________________
Mark
(Conti the brain damaged robot )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Sun 16, 2019 12:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4609
Location: Eschew Obfuscation Virginia 23005
battradio@ wrote:
Well it has a PA60 power transfomer , so most likely someone just chromed the end bells of the power transfomers and made their own faceplate for the run of the mill ST 70 .They also added a extra filter cap , did away with the 5AR4 and added AC ballance pots so the EL34s won't have to be matched .


Can you read the number on the output transformers ( A470 ) ? , that will tell you for sure what it is .

No numbers on those transformers...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dynaco ST-70 Clone (Pictured)
PostPosted: Jun Sun 16, 2019 5:33 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Wed 24, 2011 4:35 am
Posts: 4427
Location: Sunnyvale CA
It looks a lot like a mostly stock design with a replacement fiberglass PWB and a diode rectifier "can". I don't recognize the chassis design. I assume the DIN connector goes to the bias check terminals that would otherwise have been routed to the missing sockets on the front, but it is not clear from the pictures. There are two additional potentiometers, which may be for setting the bias individually on each side.

Brett

p.s. now I get it, it's a stock or stock-like chassis with a blanking panel across the front. The output transformers look stock to me, the power transformer may be the Triode unit, all are chromed, of course, instead of painted flat black.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB