Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Sat 16, 2021 6:04 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: First-time Restoration: Scott LK-72 and LT-110
PostPosted: Apr Mon 19, 2021 4:44 pm 

Hi all,

I'm new to the restoration game and was really excited to find such a good forum full of experts on these vintage goodies. :-)

Mission Statement (I start with the TL,DR): I want to restore my Grandfather's Scott components (LK-72 amp and LT-110 tuner), which I inherited about 25 years ago and used briefly in college. They will be my little tribute to the past & a remembrance of him in the new HiFi/Home Theater zone I'm building next year.

• I have some general electronics/soldering experience, but I'm no electronics engineer, and will have to borrow some of the tools (o-scope etc).
  • Last time I plugged in the components they worked, but this was >20 years ago. I plan to replace many critical components before powering up. Pots were scratchy for sure.
  • Are the tubes worth using or shall I just replace them immediately? They are surely the original tubes.
  • I'll be running it on the EU 240V/50Hz line with a voltage step-down transformer, any issues I should watch out for?
  • Is it possible to tell what schematic, repair manual, etc revision I need by the Serial # (190894, 149387 I think - blurry photos from family)? I noticed the hhscott website seems to be down, so I'm a bit uncertain where to search for the schematics/manuals, as every place I've found points to hhscott. I have the assembly booklet & mech. assy diagram (no circuit diagram) of the tuner.
  • I need to get the amplifier and tuner from USA to Germany. Anyone have experience shipping these things internationally? Does customs try to assign a high value? (I've owned them for 25y already, but still...)