Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Apr Fri 10, 2020 10:52 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 2:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Mon 18, 2017 2:23 am
Posts: 4971
Location: Plymouth, MI
I recently bought my first AK Model 35. Also downloaded Leigh's updated schematic (Thanks Leigh!). All the tubes are 01A except one, that one is an 00A. What is the difference? Can you use an 01A instead of the 00A?

Dan

_________________
Dan

Museum Curator
https://roaringtwentiesantiqueradiomuseum.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 2:42 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 15079
Location: S. Dartmouth MA 02748-1225 USA
atwaterkent1 wrote:
I recently bought my first AK Model 35. Also downloaded Leigh's updated schematic (Thanks Leigh!). All the tubes are 01A except one, that one is an 00A. What is the difference? Can you use an 01A instead of the 00A?

Dan
00a is a gas triode, 01a is a vacuum triode.

The 01a can be used in the same location as an 00a the detector. However, because of the characteristics of the 00a it can only be used as a detector.

An 00a will operate at a lower plate voltage, to be used at its best advantage, increased sensitivity to weak signals, the plate voltage should be adjustable, the grid leak accessible for easy change and the detector filament control by itself...

See:

http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=32429

_________________
List' & I will Enchant Thine Ear


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 2:53 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Mon 18, 2017 2:23 am
Posts: 4971
Location: Plymouth, MI
I've read some info that the 00A dies quickly at a hair over 45volts, is that right. Just debating if I should buy a 00A or just use an 01A instead, I have plenty of those.

Dan

_________________
Dan

Museum Curator
https://roaringtwentiesantiqueradiomuseum.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 3:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 15079
Location: S. Dartmouth MA 02748-1225 USA
See the link to the older posting, a lot of info...

I found the best 00a I have was a Cunningham pink one, I think that is in a FADA Neutrodyne kit that I still have.

Chas

_________________
List' & I will Enchant Thine Ear


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 4:05 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Mon 18, 2017 2:23 am
Posts: 4971
Location: Plymouth, MI
Thanks again Chas!

Dan

_________________
Dan

Museum Curator
https://roaringtwentiesantiqueradiomuseum.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 4:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 34393
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
atwaterkent1 wrote:
I've read some info that the 00A dies quickly at a hair over 45volts, is that right.
Hi Dan,

Yes, that's correct for the 00A.
The 1-amp 00 (no A suffix) had a max plate voltage of 22 1/2 volts.

With both tubes, exceeding the max Eb causes the gas to ionize, ruining the tube.
That ionization cannot be reversed or corrected.

Supposedly, a slight increase in performance could be realized by playing with the grid resistance (from 0.5 to 8 Megohms) and the plate voltage (kept below max). I've never tried, so can't confirm.

When broadcast stations were few and far between, and all low power, every dB helps.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 5:01 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Mon 18, 2017 2:23 am
Posts: 4971
Location: Plymouth, MI
Always glad to get your input Leigh, thanks.

Dan

_________________
Dan

Museum Curator
https://roaringtwentiesantiqueradiomuseum.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 01A Tube VS. 00A
PostPosted: Dec Mon 11, 2017 12:16 pm 
Member

Joined: Jun Fri 19, 2009 6:34 pm
Posts: 9353
Location: Long Island NY
I suggest you put an 01A in the detector socket to start with. It's not nearly as finicky and harder to damage if you apply too much voltage by accident. Then once you get the radio working you can try the 00A and see what the difference is. There isn't much unless you finesse the filament and plate voltages for each signal you tune to find the "sweet spot" which may not exist any more if somebody already zapped the tube. More hassle than it's worth for ordinary listening but when you were trying to bring in stations from the furthest distances it was important.

_________________
"Hell, there are no rules here--we're trying to accomplish something!"

Thomas A. Edison


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































-->


Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB