Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Wed 23, 2019 9:48 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 6:29 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 15, 2012 11:19 am
Posts: 119
Location: Wilmington North Carolina
Hello

I have heard some horror stories about this tube taking out power transformers. I have seen information about using a WX5 tube to correct the problem. Question is would a fuse protect the transformer from this varmint??

Regards
DaleB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 6:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 18545
Location: Albuquerque, NM 87123
I think you mean a 6X5W. Yes, fusing would be recommended, if you use the correct fuse.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 6:50 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Tue 14, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 1885
Location: Austin, Texas
Fuses should work OK to protect the transformer. A 0.1A, 250VAC, in each plate lead would be my suggestion. The voltage may be higher than 250V but the fuses should easily clear quickly enough to protect the transformer.

There are reliable versions of the 6X5 but you never know what someone might plug in in the future.

Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 6:55 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Fri 10, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 1112
Location: Weymouth,Massachusetts
A newer version 6X5 will be ok. A fuse will give the transformer enough time to be ruined. Zenith recommended fusing with a dial lamp instead. If I remember the problem was with the early 6X5 and not the later ones.
This subject has been beat to death here in the past.
GL,
Henry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 7:17 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32964
Location: SoCal, 91387
I replaced the 6X5 in my Zenith 8S-463 with the later and better designed 6X5WGT. In addition, I added a 28 0hm 50 watt power resistor to the AC return line, dropping the incoming voltage from 121 to about 110, the voltage in effect when the radio was made.

Doing these steps should insure that your PT will remain safe. I can rest my hand on the PT after an hour of operation, and it's only warm.

The original designers saw no need for fuses in practically any of these radios, so why re-engineer?

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 7:30 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 15, 2012 11:19 am
Posts: 119
Location: Wilmington North Carolina
The tube that was suggest as a drop in was a WX5 copper top if that means any thing looking for that now any information on that tube?

DaleB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 7:58 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Mon 16, 2013 2:42 am
Posts: 3484
Location: Tucson, Arizona U.S.A.
If you read up on the 6X5 problem, you will find that it is only a problem in certain Zenith sets that pushed them beyond their capabilities. Everywhere else they work fine.

There is no WX5 tube. You probably mean 6X5W which is a military version. But you might consider avoiding the 6X5G which is the earliest version.

_________________
Jim Mueller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 9:12 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32964
Location: SoCal, 91387
DaleB wrote:
The tube that was suggest as a drop in was a WX5 copper top if that means any thing looking for that now any information on that tube?

DaleB

What is the source of that information? Do you have a link?

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 9:42 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb Tue 24, 2009 8:20 am
Posts: 10782
Location: Aurora Colorado
The only one I had problems with was, in an airline, with a WG chassis. I was gettin ready to align it, and I heard

a "ping" and look over and the 6X5 had died. There was no damage, it was an original airline label tube,

So it may have just been "old age" :lol:

_________________
I move the world just one step on...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 6X5
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 11:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 15, 2012 11:19 am
Posts: 119
Location: Wilmington North Carolina
www.thirdbayradios.com/6X5_Tube_Replacement.html

This site references the WX5 tube only know what I read

DaleB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6X5
PostPosted: Jun Wed 19, 2019 11:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32964
Location: SoCal, 91387
I learn sumpin' new here all the time. Thx for the link. Here's a further one; https://www.tedweber.com/wx5 showing the replacement for $24.

Here's a quick search finding a vendor selling a 6X5WGT for $7.50; https://vacuumtubesinc.com/index.php/va ... x5wgt.html

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 12:33 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Fri 10, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 1112
Location: Weymouth,Massachusetts
I looked for the article regarding the Zenith engineering fix and can't find where I filed it. Maybe someone has saved it?
Henry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 12:50 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 11051
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
There have been several 6X5 threads on this forum.

Here I have photos of several versions: viewtopic.php?t=117188

Here is one of the longer ones: https://antiqueradios.com/forums/viewto ... &start=140

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 1:24 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1511
Location: Earth
I believe this is what the original poster is referencing:


https://www.tedweber.com/wx5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 1:25 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4528
Location: Charleston, W.Va.
"radiohenry" states: "This subject has been beat to death here in the past." I certainly agree with him. The ARF "Search" feature will reveal hundreds of previous posts on this subject.

Jim Mueller wrote:
If you read up on the 6X5 problem, you will find that it is only a problem in certain Zenith sets that pushed them beyond their capabilities. Everywhere else they work fine.

Jim Mueller is absolutely correct. There is now, and never has been, anything wrong with the 6X5 tube itself, which works very well in a great many applications. The bad reputation it has gained among many is due to Zenith improperly choosing this tube as a rectifier for certain pre-war AC radios whose power transformers were undersized to begin with.

_________________
Poston


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 3:26 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Sun 09, 2006 3:11 am
Posts: 6397
Location: Aurora, CO 80013
Poston Drake wrote:
uote="Jim Mueller"]If you read up on the 6X5 problem, you will find that it is only a problem in certain Zenith sets that pushed them beyond their capabilities. Everywhere else they work fine.

"Jim Mueller is absolutely correct. There is now, and never has been, anything wrong with the 6X5 tube itself, which works very well in a great many applications. The bad reputation it has gained among many is due to Zenith improperly choosing this tube as a rectifier for certain pre-war AC radios whose power transformers were undersized to begin with.[/quote]
I believe these statements accurately sum it up.

_________________
Me transmitte sursum, Caledoni! Dan B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 5:32 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Thu 23, 2010 6:37 am
Posts: 11716
Location: Powell River BC Canada
You could install a separate 300 mA heater transformer and connect the heater to
the cathode of the 6X5.

_________________
de
VE7ASO VE7ZSO
Amateur Radio Literacy Club. May we help you read better.
Steve Dow
ve7aso@rac.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 11:57 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 5056
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
[quote]The original designers saw no need for fuses in practically any of these radios, so why re-engineer?/quote]

The original designers also saw a readily available supply of spare transformers....... ;-)

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 12:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 19099
Location: Dayton Ohio
radiotechnician wrote:
You could install a separate 300 mA heater transformer and connect the heater to
the cathode of the 6X5.


Better yet, install a seperate 5 volt 2 amp filament transformer and upgrade to a 5Y3.

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6x5 vacuum tube
PostPosted: Jun Thu 20, 2019 2:52 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23088
Location: Somers, CT
radiotechnician wrote:
You could install a separate 300 mA heater transformer and connect the heater to
the cathode of the 6X5.


And silicon diodes in series with the plates. That will protect against plate to cathode shorts as well as cathode to filament leakage/shorts. Leaving the 6X5 in place assures that the B plus won't be applied to the filter caps until the other tubes begin to draw current. Total cost of the filament transformer and diodes is less than the fancy Copper Top replacement. I've done this on Zenith consoles that use two 6X5 rectifiers while restoring them for others. Peace of mind.

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB