Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Mon 14, 2019 1:57 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Motorola VT-71 tv (need help!)
PostPosted: May Sat 04, 2019 3:27 am 

Hi all,

I recently bought a Motorola VT-71 tv, from I think 1948. It has a TS-4H chassis. This is only the second antique tv I'm going to try to fix, so I'm still pretty new at this. (The last one was an Olympic model 755 I restored over a year ago, which is still working well). Right now I'm trying to replace the electrolytic filter capacitors, but I'm having a really hard time with it. I looked for schematics, but it's incredibly confusing because there are conflicting diagrams that don't match up. I first found a "Sam's Photofact" diagram, but some of the connections are different. On the actual tv, capacitor C1 (140 mfd) is connected to pin 1 of the "ballast tube." But on the Sams diagram, it's shown connected to a resistor. So I looked up another diagram and found a "Riders" diagram which is supposed to be for the TS-4H chassis. It does seem to show the negative side of C1 connected to the ballast. But the way the rest of the diagram is drawn is really confusing! For one thing, there are like 3 different type of symbols used for ground or common connections.

I think I have the new capacitor for C1 connected now, but I'm completely lost on the others! There are so many wires connected to the capacitor cans and trying to trace them to components and compare them to schematics that might be different is giving me a headache! This is so aggravating. I've never had this much trouble just trying to replace filter capacitors before!

Can anyone help me make sense of the capacitors? :(

- Chris

Post subject: Re: Motorola VT-71 tv (need help!)
PostPosted: May Sat 04, 2019 3:57 am