Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Thu 26, 2020 2:15 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Tue 13, 2020 6:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
...As Shango066 always says.

a compactron filled GE television set found on Ebay. It was poorly packed, but it made it here AOK. I did some (OK lots of) cleaning, and it looks brand new. It looks pretty high hour, but the flyback it OK, and no sign of dripping, although I think that it more of a problem on color televisions...The vertical transformer was dripping though, but I don't thing that is a very big issue. I an a sucker for compactron televisions, although many consider them disposables. The Chassis is an SA. Once I cleaned everything, I noticed there was weak audio. I found an open resistor on the plate of the Quadrature Detector section of the 17BF11 (Due to only 3V plate voltage). I changed it, and the audio kicked right in. It works very well now.
Attachment:
Bad Quad Pt Res.PNG
Bad Quad Pt Res.PNG [ 14.37 KiB | Viewed 1006 times ]
Attachment:
Bad Quad Pt Res 2.PNG
Bad Quad Pt Res 2.PNG [ 50.12 KiB | Viewed 1006 times ]


Attachments:
IMG_20201013_111701_7.jpg
IMG_20201013_111701_7.jpg [ 1002.64 KiB | Viewed 1006 times ]
IMG_20201013_110426_6(1).jpg
IMG_20201013_110426_6(1).jpg [ 1006.21 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]
IMG_20201013_110502_4(1).jpg
IMG_20201013_110502_4(1).jpg [ 947.96 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a
PostPosted: Oct Wed 14, 2020 12:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct Sat 03, 2015 1:41 am
Posts: 69
As I recall from my television repair days, GE made a couple versions of this set. The early version had two circuit boards, one on each side of the back with the tubes plugged horizontally. The later version had one board on the bottom with tubes plugged vertically. Both versions got cooked with use but that early version got especially crispy!

_________________
Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a ...
PostPosted: Oct Wed 14, 2020 1:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
When it came to televisions, GE really packed it in tight. When the vertical output transformer starts leaking wax, you know things are pretty tight. But I like em. It was the closest tubes ever came to flat screens, but much higher quality.

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 1:45 am 
Member

Joined: May Sun 07, 2017 11:35 am
Posts: 1149
Location: Belrose, NSW, Australia
GE released a version of this TV assembled in Australia, initially with an external step-down transformer (the "satellite") that they tried to claim as a feature! This didn't wash so they had a fluorescent ballast manufacturer make a transformer that fitted inside the TV.

Interest was such that AWA quickly released a portable of the same size. No compactrons, just "normal" tubes.

https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/amalgamat ... 46_05.html

This TV was an excellent performer. It had stabilised scan and DC coupled video. It was priced at $10 more than the GE and still outsold it 10:1. Very reliable and easy to service if it needed it.

Reliability no doubt was helped by the fact that the full-size tubes were under-run to reduce heat. It was rare to have to fix anything on these TVs apart from drop damage.

Here is a youtube video of a very young enthusiast examining one of these TVs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meW95UscB40

_________________
Wax, paper, bitumen, cotton, high voltages - what could possibly go wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 3:05 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Mon 16, 2012 5:31 am
Posts: 239
Had one of those portables in the early 70's. It was a used junker set then and it worked for years and years with no problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 6:28 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
Shango did a repair on the same type. It had the exact same chassis. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQeG50uMtA8

I saw the same type of television set in an episode of Here's Lucy, where a thief stole it. Yes it a junker, but I like em. Vertical hold keeps losing it on our only low power station...La Invasora... I haven't hooked a DTV converter tet, but a good picture should arise...


Hey, that kid is about as young as me! He does a heckofajob better than some people...

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 6:39 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Fri 30, 2012 3:35 am
Posts: 497
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Until a few years ago I had a GE 10" Portacolor set that still worked well ... err, about as well as they ever worked. It was full of Compactrons. I now wish I hadn't sold it.
R/ John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 6:45 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
I wish I had a porta-color....

They seem to be neat sets. Something you could carry to the beach 8)

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 4:04 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Thu 11, 2010 6:03 pm
Posts: 1448
Location: Pewaukee, WI
Mr. Highlander wrote:
I wish I had a porta-color....

They seem to be neat sets. Something you could carry to the beach 8)

The beach would need a power outlet and a signal source...

GEs were cheap sets but most found a way to work far better than the way that amount of material in them would make you think they should be able to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Fri 16, 2020 5:37 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
Touche! But If you took a car (and inverter) to the beach, Viola!
Attachment:
IMG_20201014_221306_9.jpg
IMG_20201014_221306_9.jpg [ 689.73 KiB | Viewed 693 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_20201014_221039_9.jpg
IMG_20201014_221039_9.jpg [ 985.35 KiB | Viewed 693 times ]

P.S. The picture shrank 'cause the inverter is too weak, even though it says it's peak is 160W, and the television only takes 110W. You would have to get a 210W that actually does what it says for the Porta-Color.

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Sat 17, 2020 12:49 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Tue 03, 2009 11:12 pm
Posts: 1741
Location: Great Bend KS
Back in the day we used to lay a towel across the set cabinet to make sure there isn't any heat related problems that show up after awhile. One of the techs did that to one of those compact ge sets and totally forgot about it. Later that day something smelled hot, and that poor set was still working but the cabinet had melted all over the chassis.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Mon 19, 2020 8:43 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 919
Location: dayton oh usa
sounds like its better than se-sf that came after.
i got one in the mid 70"s on trash day.
as a teen i already had a simpson 260 and an eico cap checker.
bought a big assortment of resistors cheap at radio shack long before i got the set.
they came in handy.
whoever supplied ge with resistors at the time was shipping garbage.
most were 30-50% off!
and the caps were duds too.
hum,weak sync,ringing in the video,sound bars,and to top it off vertical hum in the sound propagated on the b+.
i put a bunch of orange drops in that thing.
then it worked well enough that i used it till i drug home my first color set.
it served a few more years for my sister as a handmedown.
a kid having their own tv was unusual then due to cost.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Tue 20, 2020 6:09 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2220
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
I have one of those sets as well and I keep meaning to get around to getting it going. My example is, unfortunately, water-damaged and so it will take a bit of work. I, too, am a big fan of the later compactron sets and have several examples including a GE PortaColor. Nice to see that it should really work nicely when done.

-Matthew

_________________
If it ain't broken, you’re not trying hard enough...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Tue 20, 2020 7:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
It certainly should. Those compactron sets (Not to mention tube equipment in general) are very robust, and takes a lot to kill em. Water damage should not be too bad to get over. I know RCA sets tend to snap, crackle and pop, due to the carbon tracking when they get exposed to water. I don't think the GEs have that issue though.

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Tue 20, 2020 4:27 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Mon 23, 2019 5:52 pm
Posts: 286
I've always liked those little GEs !


Attachments:
GE sets 002.jpg
GE sets 002.jpg [ 811.9 KiB | Viewed 486 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Wed 21, 2020 12:25 am 
Member

Joined: May Sun 07, 2017 11:35 am
Posts: 1149
Location: Belrose, NSW, Australia
Is that YOUR collection?
As my late mum used to say "Funny oo-err"!

_________________
Wax, paper, bitumen, cotton, high voltages - what could possibly go wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Wed 21, 2020 6:03 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
Lot of GE's! I love it!

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Wed 21, 2020 7:31 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2220
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
In case anyone is interested, here is my thread from 2010 (really ten years ago already??!!) where I restored a PortaColor. Still one of my favorite little sets.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=146425

-Matthew D'Asaro

_________________
If it ain't broken, you’re not trying hard enough...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Thu 22, 2020 6:44 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 22, 2020 5:56 am
Posts: 969
Location: Arvada, CO
Y'all are making me want a Porta Color more! :)

_________________
Electronics are filled with smoke. It’s my job to put the smoke back in when they fail.
Cheers,
Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I polished a....
PostPosted: Oct Thu 22, 2020 6:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 383
I have a small collection of Portacolors. They're not bad sets considering how cheap they are. I've never seen one with a major problem.

It's amazing how many different cabinet styles they made over the years. I'm not sure that I've ever seen two that were exactly the same.

I have two solid state Portacolor II models, and while they produce a much better picture than the tube models, they're actually less reliable. They had numerous problems when I acquired them (one had a intermittent transistor in the tuner, and a bad solder connection on the CRT heater transformer; the other had a bad transistor in the IF). They both had various bad caps and intermittent connections, and needed an IF alignment to perform well. One of them has gone out of focus (probably the focus divider), and has an intermittent noise problem (hopefully cleaning and re-seating the IF IC will help).

They both have an annoying characteristic where the brightness is much higher when first turned on, and gradually decreases as it warms up. I may look into that when I work on the one with the focus problem. I don't think it's a defect, but it would be nice if I could find a way to eliminate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 20 posts ]  Moderators: Mr. Detrola, 7jp4-guy

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Todd and 12 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB