Stumbled upon a pocket transistor radio, need advice

Share collecting tips/ideas, discuss transistor radios and other solid-state items. Ads are not permitted.
Prairieporcupine
May Wed 03, 2017 8:58 pm

Stumbled upon a pocket transistor radio, need advice

Post by Prairieporcupine »

Midland solid state 6 pocket radio model 10-006
Copyright 1968 Midland International Corp. No.Kansas City, Mo.
Made exclusively for Midland International Corp in Korea.

Red in color, 9 volt battery, in perfect condition with original box.

Inside the radio, near the battery hook up, B.C. Band, Frequency Rang: AM535-1605KC, I.F.: AM455KC, serial number is blank (?)

I clean houses and apartments for a living. A gal was throwing this out. I have no idea what to do with it, it's worth, or anything about radios. I'm mostly interested in the value of it and where to sell it. I have enough "stuff" and oddball collectables. I can't find anything online about it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
PBPP
Jun Tue 21, 2011 7:27 pm
Oak Hill, VA

Re: Stumbled upon a pocket transistor radio, need advice

Post by PBPP »

Not a particularly collectable radio. Midland made mediocre radios. Yours was probably made in Hong Kong.

Going by your description, $20 is probably top end price for this radio on a good day. Would likely bring $10-$15 on eBay.

I'd hold on to it as a conversation piece,
Mitch
This space intentionally left blank.
Prairieporcupine
May Wed 03, 2017 8:58 pm

Post by Prairieporcupine »

I was afraid of that. Thank you for your help. I'm that person always hoping to find something cool and valuable, always failing! Lol. Thanks!
PBPP
Jun Tue 21, 2011 7:27 pm
Oak Hill, VA

Post by PBPP »

We all hope to find a rare bird and cash out. I've lucked out many times and found some amazing items. Most of the time, I strike out. The fun is in the hunt.