Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Sun 18, 2019 7:34 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Tue 05, 2019 5:03 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13846
Yeah 1/4" is kinda small, I think most control nuts are 3/8". My shot makes it look far larger than it actually is.

I can look to see what I have, may need a day or two.


Attachments:
P746volumenutsnip.JPG
P746volumenutsnip.JPG [ 23.58 KiB | Viewed 411 times ]

_________________
Tom
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Tue 05, 2019 6:07 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Sun 16, 2007 4:59 am
Posts: 560
Location: Minnetonka, MN 55305
Tom, your image is exactly the part the radio came with. It is curious that GE would use a flimsy make-do nut to secure a quality brass fine threaded VC shaft. How much more would a quality brass nut have added to the production cost on what is, otherwise, a nicely made radio?

_________________
"CIVILITY IS RECIPROCAL"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Tue 05, 2019 7:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 32369
Location: SoCal, 91387
Tom's scan is exactly what I was picturing in my mind. If he doesn't have one, I can take a look in my stash as well. BTW, those nuts were commonly used back then, by a number of different makers.

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Tue 05, 2019 11:22 pm 
Member

Joined: Oct Mon 26, 2009 10:02 pm
Posts: 6015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Looks like a brass nut for a standard control with same shaft could be used...

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Wed 06, 2019 6:17 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Sun 16, 2007 4:59 am
Posts: 560
Location: Minnetonka, MN 55305
A brass nut would be more durable but finding one is the challenge.

_________________
"CIVILITY IS RECIPROCAL"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Wed 06, 2019 9:30 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13846
Only nut I came up with of similar size has wrong thread(is metric i think). I do have brass nuts of correct size on both my Roland & Regency TR-1 but I'm hanging on to those. :wink:

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Wed 06, 2019 9:54 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Sun 16, 2007 4:59 am
Posts: 560
Location: Minnetonka, MN 55305
Thanks Tom. Two great radios that deserve the best hardware.

_________________
"CIVILITY IS RECIPROCAL"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Wed 06, 2019 10:54 pm 
Member

Joined: Oct Mon 26, 2009 10:02 pm
Posts: 6015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Tom---what is the threaded shaft O.D. ? Is that same control used in any other GE sets of the time period that I might have ?

I have some various size control nuts I've saved through the years and if I knew correct size & threading, would look through them...

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Thu 07, 2019 9:41 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13846
xrhonda91 wrote:
Tom---what is the threaded shaft O.D. ? Is that same control used in any other GE sets of the time period that I might have ?

I have some various size control nuts I've saved through the years and if I knew correct size & threading, would look through them...

John

Compared to std radio controls, mounting shaft is tiny, only ¼".

I have nuts for 3/8" but not for 1/4".

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Thu 07, 2019 10:31 pm 
Member

Joined: Oct Mon 26, 2009 10:02 pm
Posts: 6015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Hey Tom,

Looks like GSD found some through the classifieds...

Think I have several 1/4" nuts that came off of small rotary switches that I saved from work, but not sure of the threading without a control of same type to verify...

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GE P745A inoperative
PostPosted: Mar Thu 28, 2019 5:57 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Sun 16, 2007 4:59 am
Posts: 560
Location: Minnetonka, MN 55305
After receiving some nuts from a generous member that turned out NOT to be 1/4" I took a look at the nut holding the earphone jack and, of course, it is the same diameter as the volume control. I removed the jack nut from the donor unit and have FINALLY secured the volume control properly and rendered this long journey over.

Thanks to everyone. I will deliver the working unit to its owner tomorrow.

_________________
"CIVILITY IS RECIPROCAL"


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 31 posts ]  Moderator: Dave Doughty Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nash and 1 guest



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB