Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Apr Sun 05, 2020 3:46 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Radio Shack DX440 tuning issue
PostPosted: Feb Fri 07, 2020 5:46 pm 
New Member

Joined: Feb Fri 07, 2020 4:23 pm
Posts: 1
Hello everyone.

I have a strange issue with a DX 440 Radio. The FM radio is not setting on the proper tuned frequency.
Example: 98.5 FM will show full bars on signal strength and sounds off frequency an does not lock into stereo. If I set the digital readout to 98.55 FM the signal improves a bit and the stereo light illuminates. If I set the readout to 98.6 FM the signal sounds even better and the stereo light still stays lit. The signal bar does not show any signal strength on the meter. Just so you know, going lower than the designated proper frequency is not beneficial. The radio on FM always needs to be tuned higher to tune in properly.

The issue appears to only effect the FM part of the radio. The Shortwave. Medium Wave, Long wave and AM works just fine. I ain't no tech but I'd love to know if there was a pot I could tinker with to align the FM properly. I do have three shortwave radios and this one I use for outdoor activities. I have another DX 440 in mint condition so I am more than willing to try a tweak and try and solve the FM tuning issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I do have some electrionic repair skills and I have a digital multimeter and a hand held radio shack frequency counter.

Thank you for your time and anticipated help.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radio Shack DX440 tuning issue
PostPosted: Feb Sun 09, 2020 1:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct Thu 18, 2007 11:34 am
Posts: 4277
Location: Port Orchard, Wa 98366
troubleshooting per user manual page 47.

FREQUENCY DISPLAY
No/incorrect display
• Weak microprocessor or radio
batteries. (or both)
• Microprocessor fails to initialize. This
may happen when you first install (or
replace) batteries. Remove the microprocessor
batteries, wait for about
one minute, and re-install.

_________________
Visit our site:
http://antique-radio-lab.forumotion.com/
I was smokinradios Long time ago (2004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 2 posts ]  Moderator: Dave Doughty

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
































-->


Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB