Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Mon 21, 2019 3:50 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 13, 2011 12:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Thank you for your warning.. I have "played" with these radios for years, just now looking to learn how to really work on them.. I know the dangers.. Trust me, I KNOW they can bite.. With my hobbies, I'm much more likely to fall from the sky, or blow myself up..
What can I say,.. I like running through the house with scissors.. :)

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 13, 2011 2:34 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20628
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
But it makes sense to use an isolation transformer when testing the chassis when it is out of it's cabinet. Some old timers will say "Oh, heck, I don't need an isolation transformer". When I was a kid in the '60's, I never used one until one day I got knocked across the basement shop, hit my head on my dad's table saw and fell to the floor unconscious. When I came to, I unplugged everything and went upstairs to bed. I never told my parents about this but my next acquisition was an isolation transformer which I still use religiously to this day.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Wed 14, 2011 2:34 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
I'm lots of things, stupid isn't one of them.. I joke alot, but I have it all covered.. I'm nowhere close to plugging anything in.. I will be ready when I do.. Death by Echophone ain't in my future..


Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Sat 17, 2011 12:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
I got caps and some resistors.. I need to start somewhere, but I'm alittle worried.. :?

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Sat 17, 2011 5:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3301
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Start with the heater filament chain. Check for continuity with an ohmmeter.
Then begin with the speaker and work backwards until you get to the antenna.

Take your time. Enjoy the restoration. This isn't a race.

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Mon 19, 2011 4:11 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
The madness has started.. The schematic is looking better, although its not a very good copy.. Doing alot of reading about tubes and such.. Have replaced a half dozen or so caps.. Anything wrong stand out??

Stan


Attachments:
EchophoneRecap.jpg
EchophoneRecap.jpg [ 220.1 KiB | Viewed 2273 times ]

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Mon 19, 2011 6:07 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3341
Location: Seattle WA US
That big Sprague Atom electrolytic cap is the FIRST cap that I would have replaced.

--Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Mon 19, 2011 1:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9152
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
One old trick is to make a copy of the schematic, and circle each component on it as it is replaced.

Those blue-green Solar capacitors also have to go; it isn't unusual to find them split open. The mica capacitors may still be OK, although some types are starting to test leaky now.

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Mon 19, 2011 3:33 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3301
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Tim and I are thinking along the same lines...
I was going to suggest you make a copy of the schematic and highlight each wire,
connection, tube and discrete component that you've replaced or traced out.
That will help you to learn how to read schematics and you'll feel confident of your work.

Just remember to take things ONE BY ONE.
Don't replace more than one component at a time.

Again, it's not a race... so enjoy the restoration!

~ Mitch ~

P.S. - The work looks neat and clean. You're doing great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 20, 2011 12:34 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Hadn't occured to me to check off things as I go.. :oops:
I have a couple of different schematics,.. basically the same, but one has the component values right on the schematic..
That big sprague atom is still there because I ordered my caps from the list on the schematic, and it didn't exactly match the radio.. So I'm short one 30mfd.. That side of the radio has had a few things replaced and is a little messy.. When the rest of my caps come, I will replace all of that and clean it up some..
I have what looks like a few different styles of resistors.. How do I tell the wattage on them?? Are they a different size??

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Wed 21, 2011 3:42 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Micas are bad.. Well one of them is.. In order to get to one of the other caps, I had to clip one end of a mica.. So I figured might as well check it out.. I replaced all three.. I hope I didn't screw up big time..

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Wed 21, 2011 6:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3301
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Hard to tell what the wattage is on those resistors just from your pics,
but I'd say they are in the one or two watt range.

If you need a resistor or silver mica capacitor, let me know.
Yours for the cost of postage.

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Thu 22, 2011 1:57 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Thanks for the offer Mitch.. I think I have the caps and resistors.. Can I use a 1 or 2 watt in place of one I can't identify??
I did realize this evening that some of the tube socket pin lugs are just tie points!!
Wish I had known this last week.. would have saved me some "fit pitching"..


Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Sun 25, 2011 2:17 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 22, 2010 4:42 pm
Posts: 2987
Hmmm, well before you replace everything, you might consider some advice from someone that's fixed up about 120 of these kinds of radios. Here's what I've found:

85% of the time, the big electrolytics need replacing.

90% of the time, the wax caps need replacing. About the only exception-- radios that have been kept in a hot and dry attic for 40 years.

100% of the resistors over 50K ohms will be about 30% or more high, but those tend to be very non-critical grid resistors and they never need replacing, or if you do, it makes no difference to how the radio plays.

28% of the resistors under 50K will be more then 30% high, maybe 20% of those affect the gain somewhat.

Under 5% of the mica capacitors will be leaky or have low Q.

----

So you might consider, instead of gutting the whole radio, take a more measured approach. You might try powering it up slowly with a variac or 25, then 40 watt bulb- if it hums loudly, turn it off and replace the electrolytics. Try again, it won't hum and might give yo some scratchy noises when you turn the volume control up and move the band switch-- that's always good for morale. The take it from there. A good 75% of the radios will play just fine if you replace the electrolytics and the capacitor going to the output tube grid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 27, 2011 4:27 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Not gutting,.. I already know it hums loudly.. My intent is to replace the caps and the few resistors that will be sacrificed to clean up two messy tube sockets (it has to be done)..
One of the micas was cut to free up a cap.. It was checked, and was dead.. The other two gave very wacky numbers, so I replaced them as well.. This may have been a mistake, but so be it.. I'm learning and thats what counts.. Besides, I have you guys to give me advice and thats cool.. 8)
BTW,.. working on my variac now..
Thx,.. Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 27, 2011 10:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3301
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Hey Stan,

Hope all is going well with the restoration. Been doing some research
on the EC-1 and came up with some interesting websites you might enjoy.
http://www.geojohn.org/Radios/MyRadios/EC1/EC1.html
http://www.geojohn.org/Radios/MyRadios/EC1b/EC1b.html
http://www.geojohn.org/Radios/MyRadios/Safety.html

I gotta admit... I really like the EC-1. Keeping my sights open for one.

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 27, 2011 1:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9152
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
It's not uncommon to find leaky mica capacitors today, even new-old-stock units. Some brands tend to be worse than others, Micamold being right up there at the top. Any good cap checker with a 600-volt leakage test will weed them out.

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Tue 27, 2011 2:21 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20628
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
Yes - Micamold is right at the top. They are famous for making paper caps molded into a case that looks like a mica cap. They were often used as line bypass caps. Every Micamold paper cap I've encountered has been either leaky or exploded. Tobe is another brand that made paper caps in a mica-looking case.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Sep Wed 28, 2011 3:09 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Hey Mitch, thanks for the links.. Yeah, outta all the old radios I have the Echophone is my fav.. It was the first one I brought home.. Just something about the way it looks.. Functional..

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Tue 11, 2011 4:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Ok, I've checked and checked, and now I think I'm ready.. I'm guessing I don't just plug it and turn it on..
I've had a heck of a time with these schematics.. They don't exactly match the radio.. I think it cleaned up fairly well although there are a few solder joints I'm not proud of.. Replaced all the caps and three resistors..

Stan


Attachments:
2011-10-09 17.30.37.jpg
2011-10-09 17.30.37.jpg [ 235.2 KiB | Viewed 2040 times ]

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..
Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 52 posts ]  Moderator: Sandy Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rsingl and 5 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB