Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Jul Sun 21, 2019 2:03 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: hallicrafters SW-500 schematic? And a safety?
PostPosted: Jun Wed 12, 2019 12:27 pm 

Hi.

I'm picking up one of these Thursday. I've already found a place that sells the re-cap kit. :o
But I am not having any luck so far finding a schematic for this. I had thought I found a place, but seems they don't go this new.

I'm new to this older radio restoration stuff. Is an isolation transformer the best way to go for safety, or are there other ways that are considered better these days?

I learned electronics with vacuum tubes my first year of high school electronics, but that was a LONG time ago. :oops:
Been a working tech for most of the last 30 years, but has been almost all newer surface mount type circuits. Looking forward to getting back into tube circuits.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,
Russ

Post subject: Re: hallicrafters SW-500 schematic? And a safety?
PostPosted: Jun Wed 12, 2019 2:57 pm 

Here you go:

https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/hallicraf ... sw500.html

PostPosted: Jun Wed 12, 2019 3:57 pm 

http://bama.edebris.com/manuals/hallicra/sw500/ (in djvu format)

Schematic is same as Hallicrafters S-120
http://bama.edebris.com/manuals/hallicra/s120/ (in pdf format)

Isolation transformer recommended for safest approach. The only unique glitch in these sets is the R-20 "globar" voltage dependent resistor which slows the current rush in the filament string, increasing the life of the tubes and pilot lights.

-- Rich

PostPosted: Jun Wed 12, 2019 4:49 pm 

Replace all electrolytic caps and paper caps.

Also replace all carbon comp resistors.

The last bit is a personal preference of mine, but it can make a device more reliable over time.