Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Thu 29, 2020 12:53 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Restoring an Eico 470 Oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jul Wed 24, 2019 12:15 am 

To be honest, this started as me attempting to restore a Motorola B12WA. During alignment, I noticed that the radio was picking up the signal from my signal generator (B&K E-200D) quite some distance off what the signal generator's dial was set at, so now I need to align my signal generator. To do that, I need an oscilloscope, so I got an Eico 470. I've never used an oscilloscope before, but from watching a couple videos on Youtube, I picked up the basics... I think.

I bought the manual for it online, only to find out that it's the construction manual. The Eico 470 was also available as a kit back in the day. Still, with part specs, I was able to recap the whole thing as well as replace all the resistors that were out of spec. I think there's maybe 4 resistors that were still in spec? Now there were 5 resistors inside that were different values from the schematic, which I documented, along with one ground wire for the vertical gain that went to a different ground lug on the metal chassis. According to their part number indexes, 2 resistors went to the CRT circuit, 1 went to the vertical amplifier and 2 went to the sweep circuit. I also put BNCs on it to make it easier to use with modern equipment.

So I turn it on and get an oval? I'd post a picture, but apparently can't since I'm too new.