Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Tue 19, 2021 5:55 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Philco All-Alermican 5 has trimmers with sealed bottoms?
PostPosted: Jul Wed 14, 2021 11:48 pm 

Greetings all, this is my first post here and I'm hoping to tap some of the expertise out there on a 1959 Philco G-826 I'm about to restore. I'm a newbie but I do have a few successful restorations / alignments under my belt.

The schematic comes with the usual alignment procedure starting with the two IF trimmers at 455kHz adjusted at the top and bottom. Maybe some of you have seen this, but looking at the bottom of the PC board where these are mounted they've clearly been sealed with some type of opaque glue preventing any bottom adjustment. It appears to have left the factory that way since everything looks untouched and the seal is between the the bottom of the cans and the top of the PC board.

Should I just align from the top only or de-solder the cans and try to remove the sealant to get to the bottom? I find it odd the alignment instructions include these bottom adjustments when it looks like they were meant to be left alone in this case. Any tips appreciated!

Post subject: Re: Philco All-Alermican 5 has trimmers with sealed bottoms?
PostPosted: Jul Thu 15, 2021 3:44 am 

If the top slug is hex, an alignment tool with a reduced shank is used. Pass the tool through the top slug and into the hex of the bottom slug...

PostPosted: Jul Fri 16, 2021 1:40 am 

Thanks for the feedback. I know what you mean, unfortunately these slugs are solid philips types. I've attached an image for reference.

Attachments:
File comment: Sealed IF trimmers
solid_radio_trimmers.jpg
solid_radio_trimmers.jpg [ 567.34 KiB | Viewed 1055 times ]

PostPosted: Jul Fri 16, 2021 2:02 am 

Location: 13 Critchley Avenue, PO Box 36, Monteith Ont, P0K 1P0