Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Wed 30, 2020 7:44 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Restore finish
PostPosted: Aug Tue 12, 2003 10:55 pm 

I have a 1959 Grundig console that is in very good condition. The only problem is with the top surface. It has minor scratches and some cracking of the finish.<P>I have heard of somthing that can be sprayed on a lacquer finish and it disolves the lacquer and then the sprayed on material evaporates and the finish rehardens.<P>Has anyone had experience with this and does anyone know if my 1959 Grundig Majestic console has a lacquer finish?<P>Thanks,<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>

PostPosted: Aug Wed 13, 2003 4:12 am 
Inactive

Hi,<BR> I'm not an expert on European radios but the few I've had from the 50's had a thick, hard poly finish on them. Cracking was common and looking at the back edge of cabinet you can see how thick the finish is.<BR> Lacquer I don't think so.<BR> Ken <P>------------------<BR>

PostPosted: Aug Wed 13, 2003 4:07 pm 

Dennis Daly is the pro on this stuff. It is most likely some type of conversion varnish?<BR>I've tried various methods to repair it with a minor success involving sanding it down somewhat and literally filling the major cracks with lacquer and spraying on multiple coats, rubbing to get a good level surface.<BR>If its really objectionable you'd probably be further ahead just refinishing the top...or leave it alone and call it patina.<P><P>------------------<BR>

PostPosted: Aug Wed 13, 2003 5:26 pm 

Last night I used some plastic polish on a part of the top. It really brought out a nice shine, but the cracks are still there. There are a lot of very small cracks, but I don't think that I am going to refinish it. It is not that objectionable.<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>

PostPosted: Sep Tue 09, 2003 7:32 pm