Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jan Tue 19, 2021 2:33 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Fri 12, 2004 3:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 828
Location: Grand Blanc, MI USA
Check the secondary AC voltages on the transformer. If off, will affect the plate voltages. These are determined by the line adjust circuit--which has a simplified circuit diagram in the manual. The 100-volt tap is the one used to reference the line adjust circuit.<P>Try checking the bias circuit at the tube socket. Set up for a 6L6 and measure DC between pin 8 and pin 5. After the unit is calibrated--you should get 0-5 volts on the low bias setting and 0-20 on the high bias setting.<P><P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Sat 13, 2004 3:21 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 828
Location: Grand Blanc, MI USA
You must always set the unit to line--first. You cannot properly measure any other voltage until this is done.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Sat 13, 2004 3:15 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 828
Location: Grand Blanc, MI USA
Refresh our memory. What parts did you replace on the tester? If you did not replace all of the electrolytics and diodes, trying to troubleshoot now won't be very productive.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Sat 13, 2004 9:53 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 828
Location: Grand Blanc, MI USA
I would replace all the diodes, and there are five. Use 1N4007's, and take care to get the cathode bands pointing the correct direction. Hard to say what the noise you heard was, but could have been a resistor overloading. A close visual inspection and keen sense of smell will usually find the problem. I would go through the calibration procedure again after you put in the diodes.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Sun 14, 2004 6:59 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 25381
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
Switch not making contact?<P>If it calibrates, I would think that rules out the oscillator and meter circuit being faulty.<P>Is it only 6550s that don't test right? Screen and heater voltages correct? You might try a triode for testing, one less electrode to worry about.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Sun 14, 2004 7:35 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 31285
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Leigh wrote:
<font>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lpd:<BR><B>...One night last week I was cleaning the tube sockets in the unit and an hour later when I tested a tube (6550)the unit made a crackle-like pop.</B><HR>
<P>Hi Peter,<P>I'd have to suspect a resistor gone pop. Might not be obvious. Sometimes they crack open without showing any discoloration.<P>------------------<BR>73 de Leigh W3NLB | | Leigh@AtwaterKent.Info<BR> <A HREF="http://www.AtwaterKent.info" TARGET=_blank>http://www.AtwaterKent.info</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TT1-A question
PostPosted: Mar Thu 18, 2004 3:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 828
Location: Grand Blanc, MI USA
Thanks for letting us know what the problem was. So the sound you heard was the cap overheating?--or did it take out a resistor also?<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alan S, bob91343, jeffs01879 and 22 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB