Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Mar Tue 19, 2019 10:06 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sat 09, 2019 4:01 am 
New Member

Joined: Jan Tue 29, 2019 7:01 pm
Posts: 20
I opened the box to get a look at the power switch and noticed a ginormous red capacitor that appears to be wax and it is weeping. So now that I am replacing the cpacitor I want to make sure I am identifying a correct replacement. I have included a picture of it below. The cap says its a 4000MFD 50WV 75C electrolytic.

Is this one ok.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/5000uF-50V-Large-Can-Electrolytic-Aluminum-Capacitor-5000MFD-50VDC-75V-MAX-85-C/371966168866?epid=1334204522&hash=item569ae94f22:g:22IAAOSwhvFZLEFA


Attachments:
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg [ 107.98 KiB | Viewed 229 times ]
Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg [ 49.27 KiB | Viewed 228 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sat 09, 2019 6:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 05, 2012 5:12 pm
Posts: 804
Location: North Syracuse NY 13212
The ratings of that eBay cap are good, but it's over 30 years old - almost as old as the original.
You'd be better off with a new cap from Digi-Key or Mouser.
I tossed all of my older electrolytic caps.

Bob

_________________
Life is too short to be serious all the time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sat 09, 2019 6:09 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2319
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
The one you identified will work if it will mechanically fit. That is a very high quality Mallory capacitor which is likely still OK, but in general I would agree with Elvirafan - buy a new capacitor from Mouser or DigiKey.

-Matthew

_________________
If it ain't broken, you’re not trying hard enough...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sun 10, 2019 6:41 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Mon 17, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 630
Is there only 2 wires coming out of the original capacitor? I see more then 2, but can't tell from the pictures of the wires are part of the cap or something else.

_________________
- Vince


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sun 10, 2019 11:17 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 15, 2018 2:23 pm
Posts: 62
This will also work and seems like it may be a good fit.

EA408M50V25.5X8185


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sun 10, 2019 1:08 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 2014
Location: Columbus Ohio
you could source a capacitor from other retailers as well, as they are all the same, except for the price and shipping.
Mouser and digikey will kill the price of a single item with their $8 min shipping.
but we believe digikey and mouser sell only USA made parts, nothing there from china I'm sure.

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sun 10, 2019 6:58 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jan Tue 29, 2019 7:01 pm
Posts: 20
yes only 2 wires. Capacitor order.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Sun 10, 2019 11:54 pm 
Member

Joined: May Tue 30, 2006 4:46 pm
Posts: 9676
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Quote:
but we believe digikey and mouser sell only USA made parts, nothing there from china I'm sure.


"Don't you recognize sarcasm when you hear it, Charlie Brown?"

Most capacitors, even brand names, are made in China or somewhere in Asia. When you buy from Mouser or DigiKey, you get parts that have data sheets. That's important to me. No matter where it's made, a Nichicon or Panasonic will conform to good quality/reliability standards.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Mon 11, 2019 1:20 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Mon 17, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 630
Looks like he already ordered. I was going to say, Mouser has one for $6.24, and with approximately $8 shipping would be about $15 for a new cap by United Chemi-Con.

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/United-Chemi-Con/ESMH101VNN402QQ60T?qs=sGAEpiMZZMukHu%252bjC5l7Yaj6VpKZ6kLjxesI37%252bXsAA%3d

_________________
- Vince


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lab-Volt 37A capacitor Id help
PostPosted: Feb Tue 12, 2019 5:13 am 
New Member

Joined: Jan Tue 29, 2019 7:01 pm
Posts: 20
I did order but not the one I listed, I will look for the link.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allthumbs, Joe Connor, torfug, xmo and 10 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB