Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Tue 24, 2020 2:02 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 6:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 21437
Location: Dayton Ohio
I picked this Triplett 630 up for free last weekend.

It was in sorry shape... Filthy dirty with the case busted into a few pieces and the brass threaded shaft ferrule on the switch to mount it to the case was broken from the switch. I managed to glue it back together with two part epoxy and soldered the switch back together.

It appears to be working properly but requires a 30 volt battery for the high ohms range. Hmm... I bet that will be pricey.

Anyhow it didn't turn out half bad and even had the user manual tucked inside! :D

-Steve


Attachments:
20201026_132101.jpg
20201026_132101.jpg [ 549.54 KiB | Viewed 335 times ]

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 7:05 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 18, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 5065
Location: Littleton, MA
Looks nice, Steve.

You can stack LR1130 button cells for the 30 volt battery, though that can cost as much as the Exell 413A. (I bet the Exell internally is also just a stack of LR1130 button cells.

Fred Scoles has a modification to use three 9 volt batteries instead, but I've never seen the details. I gather Triplett no longer hosts the document on its web-site. I don't think there were any electrical changes; hopefully the ohms adjust pot has enough range to compensate for the lower voltage.

_________________
Steve Byan https://www.byan-roper.org/steve/steve-at-play/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 8:30 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 8459
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
You might be able to use 2x 9V batteries with a doubler, and a regulator. I don't know what kind of current is needed for the high ohms ranges but I'd bet not much.

Or even easier, one of those Chineseium $8 buck/boost converters with a single 9V battery. Probably fit it in there somewhere.

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 9:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Oswego, NY, USA
Another way to go: "Aftermarket" 30V, neda210, alkaline batteries are available on Ebay or Amazon.com starting at $14.75 (shipping included). I bought one in early Aug 2020; it works OK. IMO, alkaline batteries, whether one battery (neda 210, 30V) or several 9V (neda 1604A) are still a bother, because when you're done using the tester and want to store it for a few months, it's best to remove the batteries, to prevent them from leaking or out-gassing into everything, destroying the tester circuit. Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 10:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 1797
I converted mine to run without batteries. I used a wall wart and a couple of components plus drilled a hole for a power connector.

Whenever I need Ohms I plug it in; otherwise I use it without the power supply.

You are correct about current drain; the 30 V load is in the microamperes.

Mine is a 630-NA but it's similar, just fancier.

Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 10:12 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Wed 18, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 5065
Location: Littleton, MA
Fred Scoles wrote:
IMO, alkaline batteries, whether one battery (neda 210, 30V) or several 9V (neda 1604A) are still a bother, because when you're done using the tester and want to store it for a few months, it's best to remove the batteries, to prevent them from leaking or out-gassing into everything, destroying the tester circuit.

I'm starting to think the lithium primary batteries are the answer to the alkaline leakage problem. Energizer has a 9 volt variety, I'm sure others do too.
https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/l522-1119.pdf

_________________
Steve Byan https://www.byan-roper.org/steve/steve-at-play/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 10:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 21437
Location: Dayton Ohio
Yeah, interestingly enough, the battery contacts and holders are both in excellent condition in this one.
If it was corroded, I would not have tried to fix the thing.

I hate that batteries are so horrible these days, but I am willing to try Lithium types. So far they seem to be non-leakers

I do know you cannot find C or D size Lithium cells. So, one must use adapters with AA types inside.

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 10:35 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 1797
The worst idea in the world is to put a battery inside anything. In the few instances where this is not true, easy access is necessary. But for Ohmmeters? I don't think so. It only underscores the manufacturer's intent to make things at the lowest cost no matter how stupid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 11:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 21437
Location: Dayton Ohio
Yeah, I agree, but I think the worst part is battery manufacturers don't do enough to keep their batteries from leaking.

They shouldn't leak!

I see the modern version of the 630 still uses a 30 volt battery.
https://www.triplett.com/products/3030

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Mon 26, 2020 11:27 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 8459
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
Quote:
They shouldn't leak!

Most of the OLD ones don't. I took a RayOvac D cell out of a VTVM that came with an estate ....... I didnt look it up but I think it was from the 60s judging by the colors. NO LEAKAGE at all. They could do it... these days they just don't want to.

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Tue 27, 2020 12:38 am 
Member

Joined: Jun Sat 09, 2007 8:14 am
Posts: 4308
Location: Florida
My solution to VOM battery problems is simple. Don't use the Ohms function and you won't need one.

RRM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Tue 27, 2020 12:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 21437
Location: Dayton Ohio
Well, the 30 volt battery is only for the X100,000 position, so its not a total loss.

Otherwise a Lithium type AA with an adapter will take care of the D cell for the rest :D

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Tue 27, 2020 7:39 pm 
Member

Joined: May Wed 06, 2009 7:01 pm
Posts: 856
azenithnut wrote:
I picked this Triplett 630 up for free last weekend.

-Steve

I picked up one in even sorrier shape, broken glass on the meter but movement still good. Battery mounts rotted. Paid more than you did, (one dollar). Replaced the glass with a piece of acrylic cut from a CD case. For the 30 volts, I wired three 9 volt snap in batteries (NOT alkaline) in series and just distributed them inside wherever they would fit, with some padding to keep them from moving . Meter works great.

-- Rich


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Wed 28, 2020 2:49 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Sat 03, 2007 12:53 am
Posts: 830
The 12 volt garage door remote batteries (A23) contain a stack of 8 button cells. They can be purchased for $1.47 at Walmart https://www.walmart.com/grocery/ip/Energizer-Alkaline-A23-Battery-12-V-A23-Cell-1-Pack/29841903?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=0&wl13=1977&&adid=2222222242031970622&wmlspartner=wmtlabs&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=469442137321&wl4=pla-969396047035&wl5=1022441&wl6=&wl7=&wl8=&wl9=pla&wl10=120643079&wl11=local&wl12=29841903&wl13=1977&veh=sem_LIA&gclid=Cj0KCQjwreT8BRDTARIsAJLI0KJU1eNx7i_qv5R8FwWwoXoOvkLNkxjPiLew9NOuGqAjMt49tA7LfaMaApH2EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

A 30 volt battery can be assembled from 2-1/2 of these batteries (you can remove 4 cells from one battery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Wed 28, 2020 6:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 21437
Location: Dayton Ohio
Thanks Alan, I will look into that.
Otherwise I may just use 9 volters..... or skipit :lol:

Much appreciated! :D

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triplett 630 multimeter
PostPosted: Oct Wed 28, 2020 8:41 pm 
Member

Joined: Jun Sat 09, 2007 8:14 am
Posts: 4308
Location: Florida
Alan S wrote:


Depending on how much range the ohms adjust has, they may work without doing anything. If necessary, you can add some diodes or a zener in series to bring the voltage down. I did this to allow use of a 9V in a meter than used four AA's.

RRM


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ZombieElvis and 13 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB