Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Nov Tue 24, 2020 2:10 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: dumb vacuum tube tester question
PostPosted: Oct Thu 29, 2020 1:04 am 

I am new to tubes and stuff. why is there not a comprehensive tube tester out there? Nothing seems to be 100% as for tube testing, from my understanding? is it to many manufactures, or to fast change in technologies, both, etc..? excuse my ignorance.. curious

Post subject: Re: dumb vacuum tube tester question
PostPosted: Oct Thu 29, 2020 1:20 am 

Tube testers in the general market place went out of style at least 40 years ago.

There is insufficient market for a comprehensive tube tester. 50 testers a year is not a market.

Plenty of old boat anchors out there that still work fine or can be refurbished.

Rich

PostPosted: Oct Thu 29, 2020 1:49 am 

Rich, W3HWJ wrote:
Tube testers in the general market place went out of style at least 40 years ago.

There is insufficient market for a comprehensive tube tester. 50 testers a year is not a market.

Plenty of old boat anchors out there that still work fine or can be refurbished.

Rich

hi, you are saying the market was not large enough to support a comprehensive tester? or the technology was not there at that time?
(p.s.economics are not feasible at that time :roll: )

I am a generation away and not knowledgeable enough.. thks

PostPosted: Oct Thu 29, 2020 2:07 am 

This one is about as comprehensive as it is possible to get: https://www.dos4ever.com/uTracer3/uTracer3_pag0.html. It gets good reviews. Of course, you have to understand what it is telling you.