Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Mon 19, 2019 6:11 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Tue 11, 2011 1:48 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 22, 2010 4:42 pm
Posts: 2987
Looks like you did a fine job.

Now to power it up, I'd do it slowly, with a dim-bulb or variac AND an isolation transformer.

If you don't have an isolation transformer be VERY SURE you have the neutral side of the line going to chassis ground!!!!!!!

And if the power switch is in the neutral to chassis side, be extra careful-- if you turn off the switch, the heater string lifts up the chassis to be HOT!! Good enough hot to pass many hundreds of milliamps through your chest.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Wed 12, 2011 6:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3288
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Nicely done!

You can do one of two things. Power it up and hopefully enjoy your well earned reward...

or

Wait a few weeks, let your mind clear and revisit the radio again.
This time, trace every connection against the schematic with a highlighter.
You might be surprised to find an error or two.

BTW, when you said 'replaced all the caps', did you mean all the caps or just the electrolytics?

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Thu 13, 2011 1:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
I replaced all the caps.. I said I was ready but truth is,.. I would like to rewire the power switch.. So when I figure that out,.. I'll be ready.. And while I'm on that, I'll do some more checking with that close-but-not-exact schematic..

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Fri 14, 2011 2:52 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
I hate to say this,.. I'm stuck.. I was going to rewire the power switch for safety reasons but I'm alittle confused.. My schematic looks like it has both lines in going to the rectifier tube, and all I need to do is make sure the switch is on the hot side.. I have the hot line in going to #6 pin on the rec tube which is unused.. From there going to the switch.. From the switch the line goes to #1 on the tube next door, pinode I believe.. WHATS UP WITH THAT?? Isn't it supposed to hook in to the heater string??
my head hurts... Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Fri 14, 2011 9:01 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3288
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Don't worry Stan... the frustration is the fun part of restoration. :P

The heaters on all your tubes are pins 2 & 7, except the 12SQ7 which is 7 & 8.
Are you seeing seven and thinking its a one? Take a break and come back to it in a week or so.

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Sat 15, 2011 12:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
No no,.. Its pin #1.. But I think I have this figured out.. Originally power cord common comes in and goes to empty pin 6 on rec tube socket and then on to the switch.. From switch to pin 1 on tube socket of 35L6GT which also happens to be ground.. The hot side of the power cord goes to pin 2 on rec tube socket keeping the heater string hot..

So what I need to do is,..... move the hot in to pin 6 of the rec tube socket, the wire from pin 1 on 35L6GT to pin 2 on the rec tube, and run the common in to, pin 1 on 35L6GT..?? No??

BTW ,.. this makes no sense to me at all..

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Sat 15, 2011 2:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3288
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Well you could rewire the radio internals, but wouldn't it be easier just to reverse the plug?
(i.e. cut off the plug two inches from the end and install a new one from the hardware store).

You're doing a good job Stan but I really think it's time to step away from the radio for awhile.
You've been going at it pretty hard and I'm afraid you're getting 'overtired'.

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Oct Sat 15, 2011 2:43 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
This is how I relax.. LOL.. I stress over a problem untill I figure it out, understand it, or someone gives me the answer..

Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Nov Tue 01, 2011 3:38 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Echophone EC-1 is done!! Did the safety mod as per John Fuhrings website.. So now I have a cold chassis, on and off.. He helped me out with a couple of problems I was having.. It plays nice and loud.. As far as the outside,.. I’m just going to enjoy it like it is..

Stan


Attachments:
Echophone.jpg
Echophone.jpg [ 135.81 KiB | Viewed 1375 times ]

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Nov Wed 02, 2011 4:09 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 21, 2011 8:27 pm
Posts: 3288
Location: Flint Hill, Virginia
Bravo!

Quiet applause accompanied by a polite golf clap. :lol: :lol:

~ Mitch ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Jun Sun 09, 2019 6:03 pm 
New Member

Joined: Feb Tue 19, 2019 3:45 am
Posts: 1
I'm Looking for help changing out the #7 trimmer on the antenna coil. The base has cracked and part of the mica is missing. There are no part number on it and the schematic does not call out the size or the range on the print or the part list. Anyone Have any ideas about how to change this out.

Thanks Bruce[*]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Echophone EC-1
PostPosted: Jun Mon 10, 2019 10:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 719
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Have worked on a few of these since the thread,.. Honesty I have never looked to see how they attach to the coil.. Haven't had to replace one.. Parts are not too difficult to find.. May be easier to replace the whole coil assembly.. You could try posting a WTB in the classified section..


Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 52 posts ]  Moderator: Sandy Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Geoff Fors, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB