Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Mon 18, 2019 7:30 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 12:08 am 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
I picked up a model 32 brunswick panatrope. Weird name what does panatrope mean?
I have a few old radios and phonographs so I have always been interested in the early stuff. I would like to get this one operating so I will need help. First off I patched a cord on to it but nothing. Where do I go from here?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 2:05 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 37557
Location: Livermore, CA
Hi

Welcome. Here is the schematic:

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Resources/498/M0039498.htm

Start with cleaning the radio and looking for anything damaged. You will need certain equipment to work on radios. Do you have a meter for reading resistance and voltage?

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 2:43 am 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Yes I am a a/c tech by trade so I am a little familiar with voltage. I know I need to pull the chassis out but it will not budge. Should I unscrew the boards on each side? I dont want to damage anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 2:48 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Tue 31, 2012 1:55 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Mountains of Mourne. Ireland.
frige wrote: Weird name what does panatrope mean?

https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=Ck9 ... vtA&w=1280

Greg.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 4:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sat 06, 2016 1:47 am
Posts: 2967
Location: La Mesa Califonia
The schematic shows a fuse on the AC line to the transformer. That fuse I bet has blown. Do not replace the fuse and plug it back in again. That could cause damage to the power transformer. A shorted 80 rectifier tube and or bad filter capacitors would be suspects. You can test the primary of the AC transformer with an ohm meter. If that's open it's going to be a problem replacing that. This is a good time to use a dim light bulb test with the 80 pulled out. If it passes that test then start with the replacing the filter capacitors and test the 80 for shorts. That's a start for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 4:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Wed 11, 2012 5:12 pm
Posts: 733
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Is this by any chance a DC powered radio? I have a Brunswick 42 DC that I have discovered is significantly different from the schematics available, (the same ones linked to in this topic) even a different tube line-up. What tube complement does yours have? I wound up having to create a new schematic for mine.

_________________
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air,
than in the air wishing I was on the ground.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 2:14 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Sounds like I should start by pulling the receiver out of the cabinet. I tried pulling on it but it will not budge. Should I remove the wooden slides on the side? I would like to post some pictures but as a newbie the site wont let me yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 2:15 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
rebrands wrote:
Is this by any chance a DC powered radio? I have a Brunswick 42 DC that I have discovered is significantly different from the schematics available, (the same ones linked to in this topic) even a different tube line-up. What tube complement does yours have? I wound up having to create a new schematic for mine.

No it is a ac unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 3:40 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Tue 31, 2012 1:55 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Mountains of Mourne. Ireland.
It's probably best if you post some photos of the cabinet and chassis.


According to Eric Wenaas' book Radiola: The Golden Age of RCA 1919-1929

In the 1920's...
"Brunswick used the three different names for their electric phonographs in as many years - changing the meaning of these names without any explanation, thereby confusing everyone in the process. In addition, Brunswick not only changed the model numbers occasionally, but they also assigned the same number to different sets, and different numbers to the same set".

Whether this type of confusion applies to your model, or not... is yet to be seen!

You can post images as attachments, anytime.
Uploading photos to a post→ viewtopic.php?f=2&t=167677

Welcome aboard :)
Greg.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 11:02 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
I have tried to post pictures but I get this:
Your post looks too spamy for a new user, please remove off-site URLs.
How many posts do I have to have before I can post pictures?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 11:14 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Also how do I get the chassis out of the cabinet without damage? I am not sure if the tuner and volume knobs need to come off first or not. I tried to pull them off but they do not seem to want to move and I am afraid to use to much force and possibly break something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 11:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Wed 11, 2012 5:12 pm
Posts: 733
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Look for a set screw in the knobs.

_________________
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air,
than in the air wishing I was on the ground.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 12, 2016 11:40 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Tue 31, 2012 1:55 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Mountains of Mourne. Ireland.
frige wrote: I have tried to post pictures but I get this:
Your post looks too spamy for a new user, please remove off-site URLs.
How many posts do I have to have before I can post pictures?


I think its 24Hrs after you join.

If you are embedding images within this thread, limit the width to 800px

Greg.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Wed 13, 2016 12:49 am 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
rebrands wrote:
Look for a set screw in the knobs.

Thanks I am about half blind anymore. I will break out my reading glasses and a bright light. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Thu 14, 2016 4:36 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Image
Let me see if this works


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Thu 14, 2016 4:44 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Cool I can post pictures, Here is the unit I picked up.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Fri 15, 2016 1:02 am 
New Member

Joined: Jul Mon 11, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 10
Ok I was able to get the receiver out of the cabinet. It seems there are 2 3/8 bolts holding it in. They built stuff to last back then huh.
Looking at the transformer it appears to be ok but the fuse is really corroded.
Image
How do I test the transformer?

Turning the set over I believe that the colored tubes are the capacitors, should I test them or just replace them?
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brunswick radio panatrope
PostPosted: Jul Fri 15, 2016 3:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Wed 11, 2012 5:12 pm
Posts: 733
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Nope, those are resistors. You'll need to refer to the schematic to determine the value based on the color, then measure them to see if they have changed. The black things, one of which is under the red resistor near the top of the photo are caps. In the model 42 I'm working on they were all good, so I left them as is.

_________________
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air,
than in the air wishing I was on the ground.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 18 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB