Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Tue 20, 2019 4:59 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Sun 02, 2018 3:37 am 
New Member

Joined: Dec Sun 02, 2018 3:25 am
Posts: 3
Hello all: I just purchased my first Telefunken Wein console and have probably my first of many questions. I noticed a blank space Under the radio that held the Telefunken Amp. My question is, do I have to have one for the radio or record player to work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Sun 02, 2018 4:01 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Sun 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Posts: 958
Location: South Jersey East of Philly
Looking at some Wein's on the 'net...there was some thing like a tape deck that went there...but yours should play, as the amp and power distribution is usually in the tuner/receiver section anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Sun 02, 2018 5:45 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 5279
Location: Rochester NY USA
Ten Telefunken Wien models listed at Radiomuseum.org. All have a single chassis which includes audio amplifier.

_________________
My web page: https://bit.ly/2rxq4qx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Sun 02, 2018 5:54 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 26215
Location: Annapolis, MD
Model number?
pictures?

_________________
-Mark
"Measure voltage, but THINK current." --anon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Sun 02, 2018 8:43 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20475
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
Perhaps this is a picture of the amp that is missing from the OP's console. I believe it is used to drive external satellite speakers in stereo while the radio chassis' on-board amp drives the console speakers as a mono center channel. I think the radio will work without the amp but not the turntable. However, I think the turntable wiring could be modified to use the radio's P/U (pickup) input in mono. I once had a similar Telefunken console but the separate stereo amp was mounted within the cabinet and the controls were mounted above the radio dial.

Image

Here is an ARF discussion about this console.

http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/vie ... 1&t=207172

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Tue 04, 2018 8:09 pm 
New Member

Joined: Dec Sun 02, 2018 3:25 am
Posts: 3
Here's what I've purchased. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


Attachments:
cabinet3.jpg
cabinet3.jpg [ 74.66 KiB | Viewed 531 times ]
cabinet1.jpg
cabinet1.jpg [ 80.83 KiB | Viewed 531 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp Question
PostPosted: Dec Tue 04, 2018 8:49 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20475
Location: Utica, NY 13502 (USA)
It a appears that the shelf under the radio chassis is made to slide out. If so, I suspect that is where a tape recorder would be located. I think the area under the record changer is just for storage. Can you show a picture of the rear of the cabinet?

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB