Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Fri 22, 2019 2:41 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Sun 18, 2019 1:43 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Wed 27, 2019 1:56 am
Posts: 75
Location: League City, TX 77573
I have a Robyn CB radio that I believe the multi can capacitor is bad in. There is a 220k resistor hooked to it that fried. I put in a new resistor and it heated up and burnt in seconds.
The multi can is a:
350v. 47uf
350v. 47uf
350v 47uf

1) how do I test it?
2) if bad we’re can I get one?
3).If I can’t find one can I use a:
350v 50uf
350v. 50uf
350v. 50uf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Sun 18, 2019 2:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 05, 2009 4:09 am
Posts: 1403
Location: Hudson, MA
Schematic or model number?

_________________
Eddy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Sun 18, 2019 3:17 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Sun 17, 2011 1:11 am
Posts: 4439
Location: Tehachapi, CA - Bottom end of the Sierras
If it cooked that 220K resistor, there may be some additional issues wrong with it, than just some bad caps. Normally, 47 & 50 are more than close enough, but the other possible issues with it need to be resolved, too.

A model number would be nice, so we can look up the circuit, and give better guidance.

The power rating on that 220K as the same or higher than the original ? If a 1/4W was used in place of a 2W, it won't live long.

_________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper - The closer you get the end, the faster it goes - A.E. Neuman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Sun 18, 2019 4:19 pm 
Member

Joined: May Thu 14, 2015 4:15 pm
Posts: 1820
Location: Dallas, TX
You can replace the single can with three separate capacitors of those values.

_________________
Tim
It's not the Destination, It's the Journey.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Sun 18, 2019 6:18 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 19364
Location: Dayton Ohio
Yes, that is the way most often is done. Multiple value can caps aren't available, so individual caps are now used.

Hopefully there is enough room to install them.

47 @ 350 is a common value. or you could use 47 @ 450 if that's all you have.

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Mon 19, 2019 6:28 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2324
Location: Saskatoon
Interesting. You'd have to have more than 235 volts across a 220k 1/4W resistor to fry it. Maybe this was a power supply discharge resistor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Tue 20, 2019 6:17 am 
Member

Joined: May Tue 30, 2006 4:46 pm
Posts: 10001
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Multiple caps in one can are still available, but pretty expensive.

https://hayseedhamfest.com/collections/all

Rich


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Mon 26, 2019 3:35 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10964
Location: Latham NY 12110
Don't replace it with another NOS can, use new 47 caps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Mon 26, 2019 3:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Mon 18, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 19364
Location: Dayton Ohio
Interesting, those Hayseed Hamfest Capacitors. Obviously stuffing new caps in reproduction cans!

I'll have to keep them in mind, thanks! :D

-Steve

_________________
Radio Interests
-Zenith
-Sparton
-Pre-War FM
Consoles and floor models, the bigger, the better!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Aug Tue 27, 2019 12:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9262
Location: Beaver Falls, PA. USA
I have been using capacitors from Hayseed for several years, on vintage audio equipment. He's not cheap, but the caps fit perfectly; both in capacity and physical mounting.

In the "good old days", Sprague and Mallory had dozens of exact replacement can caps in their catalogs.

_________________
Tim KA3JRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Sep Sun 01, 2019 7:11 am 
New Member

Joined: Jul Tue 23, 2019 2:43 pm
Posts: 11
Location: San Francisco 94103
azenithnut wrote:
Interesting, those Hayseed Hamfest Capacitors. Obviously stuffing new caps in reproduction cans!

I'll have to keep them in mind, thanks! :D

-Steve


Maybe I'm missing something in this thread, but multi section can capacitors are available. I just built a MEQ-5 clone using two brand new CE Mfg. multi section can caps sourced from Antique Electronics Supply ( https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/c ... Can%20Type ), but I'm aware of other sources too.

Additionally, I had Hayseed Hamfest make a 2.0uF can for the same build that works and looks as specified. Maybe Hayseed is playing loose with their terminology or being secretive, but I was told that they are not stuffing their cans. Even if they are stuffing in any way, for this build I prefer the vintage look understanding that I'm paying extra just for looks over just plugging in a compatible off the shelf dipped variant from Mouser or wherever.

~ Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Sep Sun 01, 2019 3:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14879
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
JJ makes a whole line of multi section electrolytic capacitors. You do need to use a clamp for replacement if you originally had an "FP" type "Twist-Lock" capacitor. I have never had an issue with using them. They make enough variations that you would be able to restore a vacuum tube amplifier easily. The only negative observation that I have is that most of the clamps that you buy are extremely flimsy. It's good to save vintage USA manufactured clamps for them.

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Sep Sun 01, 2019 4:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14879
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Not to blubber on but here is a pair of JJ Electrolytic Capacitors and below them is a 4-section capacitor. The 4-section one is less than $15 at AES and I checked the auction site and they want $20 for them!


Attachments:
JJ.jpg
JJ.jpg [ 64.13 KiB | Viewed 431 times ]
JJ4.jpg
JJ4.jpg [ 62.24 KiB | Viewed 431 times ]

_________________
Don
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Sep Sun 01, 2019 11:25 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10964
Location: Latham NY 12110
I can rebuild a can with no visible evidence, cut with a big butcher knife rolling the can on a rubber mat.


Attachments:
can.JPG
can.JPG [ 69.26 KiB | Viewed 415 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi can capacitor question
PostPosted: Sep Mon 02, 2019 4:03 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14879
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
I rebuild them too but I usually un-crimp the edge so that I don't have to epoxy them back together. Yes, it is time consuming but it pleases me to do it that way. There are many ways to rebuild them and we have many talented members who have shared their talent.

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB